Collection inventory


Finding Aids

International Council for Adult Education (ICAE) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: EEA
Date: 1988

Revision history:
5 Jun 2006 converted to EAD (MRR)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: International Council for Adult Education
Title: International Council for Adult Education (ICAE) Records
Dates: 1974-1985
Quantity: .5 linear ft.
Abstract: The International Council for Adult Education (ICAE) is an organization whose focus is to support and facilitate adult education programs worldwide. Records include reports, an agenda, a directory and a photograph.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Established in 1973, the International Council for Adult Education (ICAE) is a global partnership of adult learners and adult educators and their organizations, and others who promote the use of adult learning as a tool for informed participation of people and sustainable development. In the emergence of knowledge-society the ICAE promotes lifelong learning as a necessary component for people to contribute creatively to their communities and live in independent and democratic societies. (Taken from ICAE website, 5 Jun 2006)


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The International Council for Adult Education (ICAE) Records consists of reports, an agenda, a directory and a photograph. Materials are arranged chronologically, with the exception of the photograph which is at the end.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

In particular, see the Alexander N. Charters Papers and the Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO) Records.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

International Council for Adult Education, Archives
International Council for Adult Education, Records and correspondence

Subjects

Adult education

Genres and Forms

Agendas.
Directories.
Photographs.
Reports.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

International Council for Adult Education (ICAE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Alexander N. Charters, 1975, 1977, 1984


Table of Contents

Papers

Photographs


Inventory

Papers
Box 1 Constitution 1974
Box 1 Report - "National Associations for Cooperation in Adult Education" (Spanish translations) 1974
Box 1 Reports 1983-1984
Box 1 Executive Committee Meeting Agenda 1984
Box 1 International Associated Directory 1984-1985
Photographs
Oversize 1 Udaipur, Rajasthan, India 9-11 Oct 1977