Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Frederick G. Hyde Collection

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 19 Nov 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hyde, Frederick G.
Title: Frederick G. Hyde Collection
Dates: 1865-1880
Quantity: 41 items (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the U.S. naval officer. Official letters and orders tracing Hyde's assignments aboard the U.S.S. Kansas and U.S.S. Hartford from naval academy on.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frederick Griswold Hyde (fl. 1863-1883) was an American naval officer during the second half of the 19th century.

Hyde began his career as a Midshipman starting September 23, 1863. He graduated from the naval academy on June 5, 1867. Hyde reached the rank of Lieutenant in 1871. He resigned from the Navy on June 24, 1883.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frederick G. Hyde collection contains mostly correspondence to Hyde. The correspondence is of a business nature, with a majority having been sent by the United States Navy. Much of the correspondence conveys Hyde's orders and assignments.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains one series, Correspondence, which is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hyde, Frederick G.

Corporate Bodies

United States, Navy -- Officers.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederick G. Hyde Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 259 11 Aug 1865-23 Sep 1880 (40 items)
SC 259 undated (1 item)