Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Aldous Huxley Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 26 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Huxley, Aldous, 1894-1963.
Title: Aldous Huxley Letter
Dates: 1926
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter, evidently a reply, from Huxley to "Dear Miss Mosely[?]" regarding her request for a photograph, and wishes for the success of her book.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Aldous Huxley (1894-1963) was a British author, editor and intellectual. Best known for his essays and for the dystopian novel Brave New World, he was also editor of Oxford Poetry and his book The Doors of Perception, which advocated the value of psychedelic drugs such as LSD and mescaline, became a cult classic.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Aldous Huxley Letter consists of a single letter by Huxley, dated from Italy and addressed to a "Dear Miss Mosley[?]". The letter is evidently a reply; Huxley regrets he cannot send her a photograph, thanks her for her compliments on his book, and wishes her success with her own. Miss Mosley was presumably rather young, as Huxley writes:

[Y]ou have embarked on authorship early! At your age I didn't know enough to write a book about anything, except perhaps the minor satirists of the Restoration dug up laboriously from the Bodleian: but as to life....I have the impression that one begins earlier now than one did before 1914.

Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Huxley, Aldous, 1894-1963.

Subjects

Authors, English -- 20th century -- Correspondence.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Aldous Huxley Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of E. A. Arnold, 1968.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 493 "Dear Miss Mosely[?]" 2 Dec 1926