Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Thomas Huntington Letters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 3 Mar 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Huntington, Thomas, 1745-1835.
Title: Thomas Huntington Letters
Dates: 1769
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter and letter fragment from Thomas Huntington concerning his mission to the Oneida Indians.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Thomas Huntington (1745-1835) was an American physician, merchant, and (briefly) missionary to the Six Nations in Central New York. The Six Nations, also known as the Iroquois Confederacy, are a large and historically important confederacy of six Native American tribes of the northeastern United States: the Mohawk, Onondaga, Oneida, Cayuga, Seneca, and Tuscarora nations.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas Huntington Letters consists of a manuscript letter dated 14 June 1769 (and an undated fragment of another letter) from Thomas Huntington presumably to his cousin Rev. Eleazar Wheelock concerning his mission to the Oneida Indians. The collection also includes modern photocopies of supplementary reference material about Huntington, Wheelock, and Samuel Kirkland.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Huntington, Thomas, 1745-1835.
Wheelock, Eleazar, 1711-1779.

Corporate Bodies

Iroquois Indians -- Missions.
Oneida Indians -- Missions.
Six Nations -- Missions.

Subjects

Indians of North America -- Missions.
Missionaries -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas Huntington Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 738 Miscellaneous 1769