Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William Hunter Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 19 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hunter, William, fl. 1817-1825.
Title: William Hunter Papers
Dates: 1817-1825
Quantity: 3 folders (SC)
Abstract: Account books, correspondence, and notes of the commanding officer of the USS Franklin.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lt. William Hunter was a naval officer and acting captain aboard the U.S.S. Franklin, the flagship of the Pacific Squadron from 1821-1824.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Hunter Papers consist of account books, correspondence, and notes, mostly dating from when Hunter was the commanding officer of the USS Franklin.

There are three small account books. The first is dated 1822 and contains payroll and supply accounts as well as occasional diary entries describing the Franklin's voyages in South America. The second account book has been disbound and contains further pay and supply accounts from 1822-1825. The third notebook is undated and contains several pages of short diary entries and financial accounts.

The collection contains four items of correspondence sent to Hunter by fellow naval officers and friends. One, dated 22 Jan 1817, was written in response to a court martial of Hunter and testifies to his good character.

Lastly, the collection contains several pages of undated receipts and accounts also kept by Hunter.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are in chronological order within each series.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hunter, William, fl. 1817-1825.

Subjects

Franklin (Ship of the line)
United States. Navy -- History -- 19th century -- Sources.

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Correspondence.
Logs (records)
Receipts (financial records)

Occupations

Sailors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Hunter Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1966.


Table of Contents

Account Books

Correspondence

Notes


Inventory

Account Books
SC 492 1822, 1822-1825, undated
Correspondence
SC 492 1817, 1820, undated
Notes
SC 492 Undated