Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Richard Pell Hunt Ledger

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 1 Aug 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hunt, Richard Pell.
Title: Richard Pell Hunt Ledger
Dates: 1828-1832
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Ledger kept by Richard Pell Hunt, a wealthy farmer, businessman, and Quaker in Waterloo, Seneca County, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Richard Pell Hunt (1797-1856) was a wealthy farmer, businessman, and Quaker in Waterloo, Seneca County, New York. He owned several farms, a dry-goods store, and was director of the Seneca County Bank. At his death in 1856 he was worth an estimated $100,000.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard Pell Hunt Ledger consists of one volume, a ledger dealing with cooperage, grist mill, woodwork, and other business enterprises. The ledger spans the years 1828-1832.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hunt, Richard Pell.

Subjects

Business enterprises -- New York (State) -- 19th century.
Farmers -- New York (State)
Quakers -- New York (State)

Places

Waterloo (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Financial records.
Ledgers (account books)

Occupations

Farmers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard Pell Hunt Ledger,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Financial records


Inventory

Financial records
Oversize 1 Ledger 1828-1832