Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Elvid Hunt Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hunt, Elvid, 1877-1955.
Title: Elvid Hunt Papers
Dates: 1911-1949
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Military historian. Seven diaries, a published history of Fort Leavenworth, a few manuscripts.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Elvid Hunt (1877-1955) was a colonel in the United States Army and a military historian.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Elvid Hunt Papers consists of seven volumes of Hunt's diaries. There is also one book, a copy of Hunt's History of Fort Leavenworth, and a few lectures and speeches.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the papers of his wife, Ruth Hunt.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hunt, Elvid, 1877-1955.
Hunt, Ruth, H. B.

Corporate Bodies

Fort Leavenworth (Kan.) -- History.
United States. -- Army. -- Officers.

Subjects

Military history, Modern -- 20th century.
World War, 1914-1918--Personal narratives, American.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.
Lectures.
Speeches.

Occupations

Armed Forces -- Officers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Elvid Hunt Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Frederick Fuhrer, 1963.


Table of Contents

Diaries

Clippings

Published material

Writings


Inventory

Diaries
Box 1 1915-1949 (7 volumes)
Clippings
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Published material
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Writings
Box 2 History of Fort Leavenworth 1937