Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Rolfe Humphries Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Humphries, Rolfe.
Title: Rolfe Humphries Papers
Dates: 1962-1963
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence and typescripts relating to the publication of his Martial, a translation of epigrams by Marcus Valerius Martialis, by Rutgers University Press.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Rolfe Humphries (1894-1969) was an American poet, translator, teacher, critic, and editor. According to Richard Gillman, author of Poets, Poetics, and Politics: America's Literary Community Viewed from the Letters of Rolfe Humphries, 1910–1969, Humphries was "the total poet. . . . If ever there were poets who did in fact breathe their art, he was one of them."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Rolfe Humphries Papers consists of correspondence and typescripts, the majority of which relate to Martial, Humphries' translation of the Latin epigrams of Marcus Valerius Martialis (Rutgers University Press, 1963).


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is in chronological order, followed by typescripts.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Humphries, Rolfe.
Martial.

Subjects

Epigrams, Latin -- Translations into English.
Latin poetry.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Rolfe Humphries Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1963.


Table of Contents

Papers


Inventory

Papers
SC 427 Correspondence 1962-1963
SC 427 Manuscripts undated