Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Alejandrino G. Hufana Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hufana, Alejandrino G.
Title: Alejandrino G. Hufana Papers
Dates: before 1971
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Filipino poet, author and teacher. Collection contains correspondence, galleys, manuscripts, printed material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Alejandrino G. Hufana (1926-2003) was a Filipino poet and author. He taught English and creative writing at the University of the Philippines and was Director of the UP Creative Writing Center. He was a Rockefeller Foundation Fellow at the University of California at Berkeley (1961) and received a John D. Roosevelt III Fellowship in Art Librarianship at Columbia University (1969-1970) and a Research Fellowship of the National Library’s Special Research Project (1974-78). Other awards and recognitions include an outstanding Ilocano Writers and Journalists Award from the National Press Club (1980), the Tawid Awards for Arts & Letters from the Ilocano Heritage Foundation (1981) and the Gawad Pambansang Alagad ni Balagtas from the Unyon ng mga Manunulat sa Pilipinas (1995).

[Biographical sketch adapted from information found on the University of the Philippines website, http://www.up.edu.ph/oldsystem/hufana.htm.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Alejandrino G. Hufana Papers includes correspondence, galleys, manuscripts and printed material.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hufana, Alejandrino G.

Subjects

Authors, Filipino.
Poets, Filipino.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Correspondence.
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Alejandrino G. Hufana Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Alejandrino G. Hufana, 1970-1971.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.