Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Elbert Hubbard Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 19 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hubbard, Elbert, 1856-1915
Title: Elbert Hubbard Letter
Dates: 1900
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter by the American writer and lecturer.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Elbert Green Hubbard (1865-1915) was an American writer, editor, and publisher. He spent years as a successful businessman and salesman before becoming involved in the arts and crafts movement. In 1895, he founded the "Roycroft," a craft colony and private press in East Aurora, New York. He soon became famous for his writing and enterprising philosophy and was also a very popular lecturer.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Elbert Hubbard Letter is a 5-page handwritten letter dated 17 Nov 1900 and addressed to "Mr. Wagner," possibly Hubbard's business agent. It is written on letterhead from Winship House in Sparta, Wisconsin. In the letter, Hubbard complains that he was not paid for one of his lectures in Minneapolis and discusses his future tour schedule.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hubbard, Elbert, 1856-1915.

Subjects

Lecturers -- United States.
Lectures and lecturing -- United States.

Places

Sparta (Wis.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.
Editors.
Lecturers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Elbert Hubbard Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1966.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 491 1900