Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William Howland Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 29 Aug 2014

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Howland, William, 1823-1905.
Title: William Howland Papers
Dates: 1882-1907
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence, receipts, miscellaneous papers to and from William Howland, Cayuga County businessman and member of the New York State Assembly.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Howland (1823-1905) was a member of the New York State Assembly from Cayuga County’s second district in 1883 and 1884.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Howland Papers consists of letters to William Howland on wide variety of topics, including state appointments, women's suffrage, temperance, and Tammany Hall.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Howland, William, 1823-1905.

Corporate Bodies

New York (State). -- Legislature. -- Assembly.

Subjects

Legislators -- New York (State)

Places

Cayuga County (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Businessmen.
Legislators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Howland Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2014.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 715 Miscellaneous 1882-1907