Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Hervey Lane Howe Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Jan 1991

Revision history:
31 Oct 2005 EAD file created (MRR)
13 Jun 2007 changed inventory to SC format (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Howe, Hervey Lane, 1833-1864
Title: Hervey Lane Howe Letters
Dates: 1863-1864
Quantity: .20 linear ft. (SC)
Abstract: Collection of 40 outgoing letters to his brother, Judson Howe of McDonough, New York and one enclosure from an aunt, Lucy Knight. Also included is a biography of Hervey Lane Howe, a regimental history of the 89th Regiment, New York Volunteers, a chronology and brief synopsis of the letters, and transcriptions of the letters prepared by George W. Howe of Williamsport, Pennsylvania.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Union soldier, 89th Regiment, New York Volunteers (Dickinson Guard).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hervey Lane Howe Letters is a collection of 40 items of correspondence of a Union Civil War soldier to his brother, Judson, of McDonough, NY. In addition to the letters, the collection includes a biographical sketch of Hervey Lane Howe, an historical outline of the 89th Regiment, New York Volunteers, a chronological list and brief synopsis of the letters, transcriptions of the letters, and a series of envelopes with annotations, prepared by George W. Howe of Williamstown, PA. The biographical sketch, regimental history and chronology of letters also serve as an inventory of the collection.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Howe family
Howe, Hervey Lane, 1833-1864, Correspondence

Corporate Bodies

United States, Army, History, Civil War, 1861-1865, Sources
United States, Army, New York Volunteers, 89th
United States, Army, Officers

Subjects

Soldiers, United States

Places

United States, History, Civil War, 1861-1865, Campaigns, Sources
United States, History, Civil War, 1861-1865, Personal narratives
United States, History, Civil War, 1861-1865, Regimental histories
United States, History, Civil War, 1861-1865, Sources
United States, History, Military, To 1900, Sources

Genres and Forms

Biographies.
Letters (correspondence)
Photographs.
Transcripts.

Occupations

Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hervey Lane Howe Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Richard Howe, 1991


Table of Contents

Letters

Other material


Inventory

Letters
SC 110 Letters 1861-1862 (4 letters)
SC 110 Letters 1863, Jan-Feb (3 letters)
SC 110 Letters 1863, Mar (4 letters)
SC 110 Letters 1863, Apr-May (4 letters)
SC 110 Letters 1863, Jun (4 letters)
SC 110 Letters 1863, Jul (2 letters)
SC 110 Letters 1863, Aug (4 letters)
SC 110 Letters 1863, Sep-Oct (3 letters)
SC 110 Letters 1863, Nov (2 letters)
SC 110 Letters 1864, Jan-Mar (4 letters)
SC 110 Letters 1864, Apr-Jun (4 letters)
SC 110 Letters 1864, Jul-Sep (2 letters)
Other material
SC 110 Transcription of letters
SC 110 Notes on letters
SC 110 Photograph (reproduction of original)