Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Frances Minturn Howard Papers

A description of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Feb 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Howard, Frances Minturn.
Title: Frances Minturn Howard Papers
Dates: circa 1950-1970
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Books, manuscripts and typescripts of the American poet.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frances Minturn Howard (1905-1995) was an American poet. She spent most of her life in Boston, was published in national periodicals including Virginia Quarterly Review, Saturday Review, The New Yorker and Poetry Magazine. In 1955 the New England Poetry Society awarded her their Golden Rose Award and in 1957 she received the Reynolds Lyric Award.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frances Minturn Howard Papers consist of books, manuscripts and typescripts.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Jean Burden Papers for additional Howard correspondence. The library also has several works by Howard in the general collection; please refer to the Classic Catalog for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Howard, Frances Minturn.

Associated Titles

All keys are glass.

Subjects

American poetry.
Women poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frances Minturn Howard Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Frances Minturn Howard, 1968-1970.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.