Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Howard Family Diaries

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 19 Nov 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Howard family.
Title: Howard Family Diaries
Dates: 1868-1875
Quantity: 7 v. (SC)
Abstract: Diaries of Henry S. Howard and John Howard as schoolboys, 1869-1875, and of Charles L. Howard as a farmer in Reading, Schuyler County, 1868-1875.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Howard Family (fl. 1868-1875) lived in Reading, New York during the mid-19th century. Little is known about the family except that Charles L. Howard was a farmer.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Howard Family Diaries express the thoughts of two schoolboys, Henry S. Howard and John Howard, from 1869-1875. Additionally, the collection contains a 19th century farmer, Charles L. Howard's, diary.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Howard family.
Howard, Charles L. -- Diaries.
Howard, Henry S. -- Diaries.
Howard, John -- Diaries.

Subjects

Boys -- Diaries.
Children -- Diaries.
Farmers -- Diaries.

Places

Schuyler County (N.Y.).

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Occupations

Farmers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Howard Family Diaries
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Diaries


Inventory

Diaries
SC 257 Howard, Charles L. 1868, 1869
SC 257 Howard, Henry S. 1870, 1871, 1872, 1875
SC 257 Howard, John 1872