Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Household Recipe Book

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 20 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Household Recipe Book
Dates: circa 1860
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Notebook with pasted-in and handwritten recipes for a wide range of household uses, from ginger beer to silver polish to a formula for determining the weight of live cattle.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the compiler of this volume. One of the clippings has a partial date from 1859.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Household Recipe Book is a single volume containing pasted-in and handwritten recipes for a wide range of household uses, from ginger beer to silver polish to a formula for determining the weight of live cattle. Other recipes and instructions include brown hair dye, mushroom catsup, rhubarb cordial, curing meat and restoring burned steel.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Cooking, American.
Formulas, recipes, etc. -- 19th century.
Home economics -- United States -- 19th century.
Housewives -- United States -- History.
Traditional medicine -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Do-it-yourself manuals.
Recipes.

Occupations

Housewives.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Household Recipe Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Recipe books


Inventory

Recipe books
SC 576 Untitled circa 1860