Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James D. Horan Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Jul 1967

Revision history:
Jan 1968 additions (-)
18 May 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Horan, James David, 1914-
Title: James D. Horan Papers
Dates: 1942-1967
Quantity: 4.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American author, novelist. Collection contains book manuscripts, including drafts and revisions; and material relating to television productions based on Horan's work (1958-1960).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James D. Horan (1914-) was an American newspaper editor, author and novelist. Born in New York City, he studied at Drake College in Jersey City and at the New York University Writing Center. He wrote more then 15 books, primarily history or historical fiction, and was employed as Special Events Editor for the New York Journal American for many years. He was the recipient of numerous awards for his books, and a member of many organizations of writers and historians.

He and his wife, Gertrude Dorrity, had four children.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James D. Horan Papers consist primarily of drafts and manuscripts of his books and television work. There is a very small amount of Correspondence (two items). Manuscripts with the most amount of material in the collection include The King's Rebel, The Great American West, The Right Image, The Shadow Catcher and others. Television productions represented include The Black Cat, The D.A.'s Man, and Turnpike.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by title. Within this, material is roughly chronological, in an attempt to demonstrate the development of an idea into a final product.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Horan, James David, 1914-

Subjects

Authors, American.
Novelists, American.
Popular literature -- United States.
Television scripts.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.
Scripts (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James D. Horan Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Manuscripts

Television productions


Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming
Box 1 Torgerson, Major Harry L. 1944
Outgoing
Box 1 Miscellaneous undated
Manuscripts
Books
Box 1 Action To-night 1942
Box 1 The Desperate Men, revised 1962 (2 folders)
The Great American West
Box 1 First draft (3 folders)
Box 1 Credit pages (3 copies)
Box 5 Galley proofs, incomplete
Box 1 Research material
The King's Rebel
Box 2 Original drafts 1950
Box 2 Early draft circa 1950 (4 folders)
Box 2 Extra pages
Box 3 Final version, books 1, 2, 3 1953 (5 folders)
Box 4 With editorial comments by Ray Fadden 1951
The Right Image
Box 6 Corrected typescript, pp. 1-535 (4 folders)
Box 7 Corrected typescript, pp. 536-848 (2 folders)
Box 7 Page proofs, author's marked set Feb. 17, 1967
The Shadow Catcher 1961
Box 4 Books 1 and 2 (2 folders)
Box 5 Books 3, 4, 5 (3 folders)
Box 5 Work sheets
Television productions
The Black Cat
Box 8 Carbon copies of story lines Feb. 10, 1959, undated
Box 8 Correspondence and notes re scripts 1959
Final scripts
Box 8 Letter to a Little Girl Dec. 31, 1958
Box 8 Father's Boy Feb. 27, 1959
Box 8 The Fiend of Thornton Beach Mar. 18, 1959
Box 8 The Seagull Mar. 25, 1959
Final shooting scripts
Box 8 Pursuit of Happiness Mar. 3, 1959
Drafts
Box 8 The Last Marshall undated - 1st rough draft of storyline (typescript); 2nd draft broken down in scenes; final shooting draft
The D. A.'s Man
Box 8 Original corrected typescript notes for two stories undated
Box 8 Two final shooting scripts and one Pete Kelley's Blues script sent by Jack Webb 1958
Box 8 Shooting script, revised final for Inside Track Dec. 8, 1958
Box 8 Shooting script, final for Mr. Santa Claus Dec. 9, 1958
Box 8 Office memo re Iron Star story Jan. 30, 1959
Box 8 Publicity 1957-1960, undated
Turnpike
Box 9 Series idea undated - holograph notes, corrected typescript and final copy
Box 9 Shooting schedule, holograph notes and shooting script with corrections Mar. 2, 1960
Box 9 Stories May 6, 1960, undated - lists, carbon copies and one script (Brother and Sister)
Box 9 Pilot script (The Game) Mar. 14-18, 1960
Box 9 Budget, roster, shooting script and cast list for pilot show Mar. 11-16, 1960
Box 9 Format presentation and typescript of pilot story (Last Call) undated
Box 9 Xerox copy of original rough draft of The Toy Duck, sent to New Jersey state police for comments undated
Box 9 Publicity 1960