Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Hoover Commission Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: circa 1960?

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: United States. -- Commission on Organization of the Executive Branch of the Government (1953-1955)
Title: Hoover Commission Records
Dates: 1947-1949
Quantity: 8.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Commission appointed by President Harry S. Truman to recommend administrative changes to the federal government. Collection contains reports, analyses, appendices, small amount of correspondence.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Commission on Organization of the Executive Branch of the Government, informally referred to as the Hoover Commission because Herbert Hoover was its chairman, was appointed by President Harry S. Truman to recommend administrative changes to the federal government.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hoover Commission Records contains correspondence, reports, research notes and other material.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received minimal processing. Materials are in roughly alphabetical order by department (agriculture, commerce, etc.).


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Flemming, Arthur S. (Arthur Sherwood), 1905-1996.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Commission on Organization of the Executive Branch of the Government (1953-1955)

Subjects

Executive departments -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Reports.
Research notes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hoover Commission Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, circa 1966.


Table of Contents

Records


Inventory

Records
Box 1 Analysis of previous proposals for organization of the executive branch
Box 1 Final report, Department of Agriculture
Box 1 Agricultural activities
Box 1 Commerce Department
Box 1 Department management (3 folders)
Box 2 Appendices to study of departmental management
Box 2 Federal-state relationships
Box 3 Federal supply
Box 4 Fiscal, Budgeting and Accounting
Box 5 Foreign Affairs
Box 5 Federal field offices
Box 5 Flemming, Arthur S.
Box 5 General
Box 6 General
Box 6 General management of the executive branch
Box 6 Government Information Services
Box 6 Government Statistical Services
Box 7 Indian Affairs
Box 7 Labor Department
Box 7 Report to the Commission on Organization of the Executive Branch of the Government
Box 7 Government Statistical Services
Box 8 Office of General Services, supply activities
Box 8 Overseas Admission, federal-state relations, Federal Research
Box 8 Personnel and Civil Service Committee
Box 8 Civil Service Rules and Regulations
Box 9 Personnel and Civil Service Committee
Box 9 Post Office
Box 9 Public Works
Box 9 Records Management
Box 10 Interstate Commerce Commission
Box 10 Management survey of the United States Maritime Commission
Box 10 Report of the Personnel Policy Committee
Box 11 Federal Trade Commission
Box 11 Federal Communications Commission
Box 11 National Labor Relations Board
Box 11 Securities and Exchange Commission
Box 11 United States Maritime Commission
Box 12 Federal Power Commission
Box 12 Committee on Independent Regulatory Commissions Report
Box 12 Report of the Personnel Policy Committee
Box 12 Federal Reserve System
Box 13 Regulatory agencies
Box 13 Relations of the Presidency to the Executive Branch
Box 13 Reorganization
Box 13 Research in Federal Government
Box 13 Revolving funds
Box 13 Territories and dependencies
Box 13 Transportation
Box 14 Veterans Affairs (other than hospitals)
Box 14 Welfare
Box 15 Functions and Activities of the National Government in the Field of Welfare, Parts I, II, III
Box 16 Functions and Activities of the National Government in the Field of Welfare, Parts IV, V, VI, VII
Box 17 Galley proofs of reports