Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Donald Holden Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Oct 1998

Revision history:
2 Jun 2005 EAD file created (MRR)
16 Jan 2007 updated finding aid to include additions through 2006 (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Holden, Donald, 1931-
Title: Donald Holden Papers
Dates: 1962-2006
Quantity: 7 linear ft.
Abstract: Holden's writings (articles, books) and artwork (drawings of nude human figure in various media, watercolor landscapes); binders containing a catalog of Holden's watercolors and slides of his work in public collections; assortment of exhibition catalogs and articles about the painter.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

American artist, art educator. Published art instruction books under pseudonym, Wendon Blake.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Blake, Wendon.
Holden, Donald.

Subjects

Art -- Study and teaching.
Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Figure drawing.
Human figure in art.
Nude in art.
Painters -- United States
Painting, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Books.
Drawings.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Donald Holden Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Writings

Memorabilia

Artwork


Inventory

Writings
Box 3 Articles 1964-1994 photocopies. (2 folders)
Books (by Donald Holden)
Box 1 Art Career Guide, 1st-4th editions
Box 1 Whistler Landscapes and Seascapes (hardbound)
Box 1 Whistler Landscapes and Seascapes (paperback)
Books (by Wendon Blake)
Box 1 The Acrylic Painting Book
Box 1 The Artist's Guide to Using Color
The Artists Painting Library
Box 2 Acrylic Painting
Box 2 Children's Portraits in Oil
Box 2 Color in Acrylic
Box 2 Color in Oil
Box 2 Color in Watercolor
Box 2 Figure Drawing
Box 2 Figures in Oil
Box 2 Landscape Drawing
Box 2 Landscapes in Acrylic
Box 2 Landscapes in Oil
Box 2 Landscapes in Watercolor
Box 2 Oil Painting
Box 2 Portrait Drawing
Box 2 Portraits in Oil
Box 2 Seascapes in Acrylic
Box 2 Seascapes in Oil
Box 2 Seascapes in Watercolor
Box 2 Starting to Draw
Box 2 Watercolor Painting
Box 1 Acrylic Watercolor Painting
Box 1 The Color Book
Box 1 The Complete Acrylic Painting Book
Box 1 The Complete Guide to Acrylic Painting
Box 1 Complete Guide to Landscape Painting in Oil
Box 1 The Complete Oil Painting Book
Box 1 The Complete Painting Course
Box 2 The Complete Watercolor Book
Box 2 Creative Color: a Practical Guide for Oil Painters
Box 2 Creative Color for the Oil Painter
Box 2 The Drawing Book
Box 2 Farbe in der aquarellmalerei
Box 2 Getting Started in Drawing
Box 2 Landschaften in Öl
Box 2 Landscape Painting in Oil
Box 2 The Oil Painting Book
Box 2 Painting in Alkyd (hardbound)
Box 2 Painting in Alkyd (paperback)
Box 2 The Portrait and Figure Painting Book
Box 2 The Watercolor Painting Book
Memorabilia
Box 3 Articles about 1987 1989
Box 3 Exhibition catalogs 1990-1994 (2 folders)
Box 3 Holding institutions of original work
Artwork
Box 4 Catalog of watercolors (8 binders)
Box 4 Slides of watercolors in public collections
Drawings (by date)
Oversize 1 1962 "Seated Nude" - pencil 10 x 6 1/2
Oversize 1 1964 "Nude Back" - carbon 7 1/2 x 11
Oversize 1 1965 "Reclining Nude" - pencil 7 x 10 3/4
Oversize 1 1966 "Standing Nude" - White Magna on paper toned with oil wash 11 1/2 x 7 1/2
Oversize 1 1967 "Standing Nude" - White Magna on paper toned with oil wash 11 1/2 x 7 1/2
Oversize 1 1968 "Seated Nude" - pencil 10 x 12
Oversize 1 1969 "Nude Back" - brown chalk 9 1/2 x 14
Oversize 1 1970 "Seated Nude" - Prismacolor pencil 9 x 12
Oversize 1 1971 "Standing Nude" - charcoal and chalk 9 x 12
Oversize 1 1972 "Nude Back" - Prismacolor pencil and wash 6 1/2 x 10 3/4
Oversize 1 1974 "Standing Nude" - White Magna on paper toned with oil wash 11 1/2 x 8
Oversize 1 1974 "Reclining Nude" - gray chalk on black paper 9 x 11
Oversize 1 1983 "Reclining Nude" - Prismacolor pencil and wash 6 x 9 1/2
Oversize 1 1984 "Seated Nude" - Prismacolor pencil 9 x 11 1/2
Oversize 1 1985 "Reclining Nude" - Prismacolor pencil 8 1/2 x 14 1/2
Oversize 1 1986 "Torso" - Prismacolor pencil 8 1/2 x 12
Oversize 1 1987 "Torso" - Prismacolor pencil 12 1/2 x 8 1/2
Oversize 2 1988 "Nude Back" - Prismacolor pencil 11 x 10
Oversize 2 1989 "Standing Nude" - Prismacolor pencil 14 1/2 x 10 1/2
Oversize 2 1991 "Nude Back" - Prismacolor crayon 8 1/2 x 10 1/2
Oversize 2 1992 "Kneeling Nude" - Prismacolor crayon 8 1/2 x 10 1/2
Oversize 2 1992 "Nude Back" - Prismacolor pencil 7 1/4 x 11
Oversize 2 1993 "Seated Nude" - Prismacolor crayon 11 1/2 x 8
Oversize 2 1994 "Crouching Nude" - Prismacolor crayon 10 1/2 x 8 1/2
Oversize 2 1994 "Nude Back" - Prismacolor crayon 8 1/4 x 11 1/2
Oversize 2 1995 "Crouching Nude" - Prismacolor crayon 9 3/4 x 12 3/4
Oversize 2 1996 "Reclining Nude" - Prismacolor crayon 8 x 12
Oversize 2 1997 "Nude Back" - Prismacolor crayon 10 x 14
Oversize 4 1998 "Reclining Nude" - Prismacolor crayon 9 1/2 x 14
Oversize 4 1999 "Nude Back" - Prismacolor crayon 10 x 14
Oversize 4 2000 "Reclining Nude" - Prismacolor crayon 10 x 14
Oversize 4 2001 "Reclining Nude" - Prismacolor crayon 9 3/4 x 14
Oversize 4 2002 "Nude Back" - Prismacolor crayon 10 x 14
Oversize 4 2003 "Nude Back" - Prismacolor crayon 10 x 14
Oversize 4 2004 "Reclining Nude" - Prismacolor crayon 10 x 14
Oversize 4 2005 "Nude Back" - Prismacolor crayon 10 x 14
Oversize 4 2006 "Seated Nude" - Prismacolor crayon 10 x 14
Watercolors (by date)
Oversize 2 1987 "November Light I" 7 1/2 x 10 3/4
Oversize 2 1987 "Tidepool III" 71/4 x 10 3/4
Oversize 2 1989 "Grand Tetons Storm I" 9 x 13
Oversize 2 1989 "Red Cloud III" 7 1/4 x 10 3/4
Oversize 2 1990 "Mendocino Moonlight I" 7 1/4 x 10 3/4
Oversize 2 1990 "Yellowstone Fire XIII" 13 x 9
Oversize 3 1991 "After the Rain II" 7 1/4 x 10 3/4
Oversize 3 1992 "Monhegan Morning I" 13 x 9
Oversize 3 1992 "Monhegan Surf VI" 7 1/4 x 10 3/4
Oversize 3 1993 "Sunset at Casper I" 7 1/4 x 10 3/4
Oversize 3 1993 "Yellowstone Fire XXXI" 7 1/4 x 10 3/4
Oversize 3 1994 "Lake Powell III" 7 1/4 x 10 3/4
Oversize 3 1995 "Hudson Moonlight II" 8 3/4 x 12
Oversize 3 1996 "Dawn at Longcol I" 7 1/2 x 11
Oversize 3 1996 "Squeaker Cove I" 8 1/2 x 12
Oversize 3 1997 "Garson II" 8 1/2 x 12
Oversize 3 1997 "Wooded Shore XVII" 8 1/2 x 12
Oversize 3 1998 "Dusk at Gull Pond X" 8 1/2 x 12
Oversize 3 1999 "Dusk in Brittany III" 7 1/2 x 11 1/4
Oversize 3 2000 "Thomaston II" 8 3/4 x 12 1/4
Oversize 3 2001 "Forest Fire XIV" 9 x 12
Oversize 3 2002 "Monhegan Harbor IX" 8 3/4 x 12 1/4
Oversize 4 2003 "Adirondack Moonlight VI" 8 1/2 x 12
Oversize 4 2004 "Dusk at Deertrack VII" 8 3/4 x 12 1/4
Oversize 4 2005 "Breton Coast II" 9 x 12
Oversize 4 2006 "Dusk at Lake Powell XV" 8 1/2 x 12