Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Paul Hoffman Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: --

Biographical History

Paul Hoffman was an American author. He wrote poetry, novelettes, short stories, plays, articles, book reviews; he is also the author of the novel Seven Yesterdays.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Paul Hoffman Papers consist primarily of Hoffman's Writings in typescript, manuscript, and printed and published form. These include poems, short stories, articles, and book reviews as well as fragments of his personal journal and some school and college papers. At the end of this series are a few photographs, clippings, and programs. Correspondence covers some thirty years and includes a small amount of miscellanea (printed material, programs).

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received minimal processing and remains largely in original order. The first two boxes of short stories are in alphabetical order by title, but the material in the remaining boxes is in no particular order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

Subject Headings

Persons

Hoffman, Paul -- Archives.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
American poetry -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Novelists, American.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Book reviews.
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Juvenilia.
Manuscripts for publication.
Notebooks.
Photographs.
Poems.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Paul Hoffman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Writings

Correspondence

Inventory