Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Charles F. Hoffman Letters

A description of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 17 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hoffman, Charles Frederick
Title: Charles F. Hoffman Letters
Dates: 1880-1896
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters received by the Episcopal clergyman and author.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Frederick Hoffman (1830-1897) was an American Episcopal clergyman and author. He was ordained as an Episcopal priest in the early 1850s and worked in various churches in New Jersey and New York. In 1874, he was appointed the rector of All Angels' Church in New York City and remained there until his death. He published several Christian books, such as Days and Nights with Jesus. He also had a strong interest in education and in 1895 founded the Association for Promoting the Improvement of Church Schools.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles F. Hoffman Letters consist of approximately 100 items of correspondence sent to Hoffman between 1880 and 1896. The majority of the letters are from fellow Episcopal clergymen, many responding to Hoffman's plans to hold a meeting of his new Association for the Improvement of Church Schools. Other letters discuss Hoffman's published books and sermons.

The collection also contains an envelope of approximately twenty signatures clipped from letters sent to Hoffman, also mainly from episcopal clergymen.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hoffman, Charles Frederick.

Corporate Bodies

All Angels' Church (New York, N.Y.)

Subjects

Episcopal Church -- Clergy -- Correspondence.

Places

New York (N.Y.). -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.
Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles F. Hoffman Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1966.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 488 1880-1896, Undated - also contains 20 signatures clipped from letters sent to Hoffman.