Collection inventory


Finding Aids

George F. Hoar Letters

A description of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 12 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hoar, George Frisbie, 1826-1904
Title: George F. Hoar Letters
Dates: 1900-1902
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Four letters and one telegram from the American politician.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Frisbie Hoar (1826-1904) was an American politician and lawyer from Massachusetts. He served as a Republican member of the U.S. House of Representatives (1869-1873) and the Senate (1877-1904).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George F. Hoar Letters consists of four letters and one telegram sent by Hoar between 1900 and 1902. The items are mainly official correspondence and they contain discussions of legislation, a quote from one of Hoar's speeches, and a response to a request for a photograph.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hoar, George Frisbie, 1826-1904.

Subjects

Legislators -- United States -- Correspondence.

Places

Washington (D.C.) -- History.
Worcester (Mass.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Lawyers.
Politicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George F. Hoar Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1966.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 485 1900-1902