Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William A. Hinds Photograph Album

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 20 May 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hinds, William Alfred, 1833-1910.
Title: William A. Hinds Photograph Album
Dates: circa 1865
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Photograph album with photographs of various members of the Oneida Community, including William A. Hinds, Oneida Community historian, and founder John Humphrey Noyes and his wife Harriet Holton. The album was compiled by Hinds.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Oneida Community was a Utopian religious commune founded by John Humphrey Noyes in 1848 in Oneida, a town in Central New York. Noyes and his adherents were believers in Perfectionism, the doctrine that it is possible to bring about Christ's millennial kingdom and be free of sin and perfect in this world. They practiced, among other things, plural or complex marriage, male continence and mutual criticism.

William A. Hinds (1833-1910) was a member of the Oneida Community for more than sixty years. He was editor of, and a contributor to, the Oneida Circular, the Community's newsletter, and a leading member of its governing committees. He was tasked by Noyes with visiting other communalistic and socialistic societies around the country, resulting in the publication of a study entitled American Communities (Oneida: Office of the American Socialist, 1878).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William A. Hinds Photograph Album consists of one volume of portrait photographs of members of the Oneida Community. Among those represented are founder John Humphrey Noyes and his wife Harriet Holton NOyes, and Oneida Community historian (and compiler of the volume) William A. Hinds. Most of the photographs have names written in pencil beneath them but some are only first names.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Hinds' research files for his study of American Communities may be found in the Oneida Community Collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hinds, William Alfred, 1833-1910.
Noyes, Harriet Holton.
Noyes, John Humphrey, 1811-1886.

Corporate Bodies

Oneida Community.

Subjects

Photography -- 19th century.
Utopias.

Places

Oneida (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Occupations

Historians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William A. Hinds Photograph Album,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2011.


Table of Contents

Photographs


Inventory

Photographs
Box 1 Album circa 1865