Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jan Hillegas Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 12 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hillegas, Jan.
Title: Jan Hillegas Letter
Dates: 1965
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter describing civil rights activities in Jackson, Mississippi.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jan Hillegas was an American civil right worker. She volunteered in Jackson, Mississippi in 1964-1965 and later managed the Freedom Information Service.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jan Hillegas Letter is a two-page, typewritten letter dated 5 Sep 1965 reporting on recent events in the civil rights movement in Jackson, Mississippi. Hillegas discusses activities of the Freedom Democratic Party (FDP) and the Council of Federated Organizations (COFO). Enclosed with the letter is a two-page "Proposal for a Civil Rights Information Center."

The collection also contains a related fund-raising letter for the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) written by Nathan H. Schwerner.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hillegas, Jan.
Schwerner, Nathan H.

Corporate Bodies

Council of Federated Organizations (U.S.).
Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party.
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (U.S.).

Subjects

Civil rights -- Mississippi -- Jackson.
Civil rights movements -- United States -- 20th century.

Places

Jackson (Miss.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jan Hillegas Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Frank Piskor.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 483 1965