Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Benjamin S. Hill Collection

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 19 Nov 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hill, Benjamin S.
Title: Benjamin S. Hill Collection
Dates: 1861-1892
Quantity: 43 items (SC)
Abstract: Civil War letters from cousin E. F. Hill; also letters, documents, and forms of the Masons and Knights Templar, 1875-1892.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Benjamin S. Hill (fl. 1861-1882) was a member of the Knights Templar. A 95° member, Hill was granted the title of Deputy Grand Representative at large in 1884 while living in Illinois.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Benjamin S. Hill Collection contains Civil War Correspondence from two of Hill's relatives, as well as correspondence from members of the Knights Templar. The collection also contains several pieces of Memorabilia relating to the Knights Templar including a calling card for Benjamin S. Hill, certificates, invitations, and a program.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains two series: Correspondence and Memorabilia. The Correspondence is arranged by sender and then sorted chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hill, Benjamin S.
Hill, E. F.

Subjects

Freemasonry.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Benjamin S. Hill Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Memorabilia


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 256 Hill, E. F. 02 May 1861-26 Apr 1886 (17 items)
SC 256 Hill, [N.?] A. 13 Dec 1862-08 Jun 1863 (2 items)
SC 256 Mason and Knights Templar 08 Aug 1877-10 Jun 1892 (16 items)
Memorabilia
SC 256 Calling card (1 item)
SC 256 Certificates 1884, 1885 (2 items)
Invitations
SC 256 Apollo Commandery Knights Templar 1877 (1 item)
SC 256 Cincinnati Commandery Knights Templar 1877 (1 item)
SC 256 Hanselmann Commandery Knights Templar 1877, undated (2 items)
SC 256 Program for the Triennial Conclave of the Grand Encampment 1877 (1 item)