Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Andrew Hendrickson Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: AMV
Date: Mar 1971

Revision history:
Jan 1977 revisions (-)
Jul 1991 part 2 additions (KW)
25 Jul 2006 2 parts integrated, converted to EAD (MRR)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hendrickson, Andrew, 1899-
Title: Andrew Hendrickson Papers
Dates: 1925-1971 (bulk: 1948-1967)
Quantity: 10.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Consists of correspondence, reports, printed material, and memorabilia, including certificates, plaques, and photographs. The collection includes material generated by Herschel W. Nisonger (predecessor), William Dowling (successor), and Andrew Hendrickson during their tenures as professors of adult education at Ohio State University, however the bulk of the material belongs to Hendrickson (1947-1967). Correspondents whose letters are of significant depth and duration include: William D. Dowling, John B. Holden, Cyril O. Houle, Glenn S. Jensen, Homer Kempfer, Malcolm S. Knowles, Burton W. Kreitlow, Fern Long, Robert A. Luke, Herschel W. Nisonger, Newton C. Rochte, and Coolie Verner. Part 2, added in 1991, contains miscellaneous pamphlets, additional memorabilia, and some material relating to the Adult Education Association (AEA), the National Association of Public School Adult Educators (NAPSAE), and the National Education Association (NEA).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Born November 17, 1899, in Pedrickstown, New Jersey, Andrew Hendrickson earned an A.B. in English from Bucknell University in 1925, an M.A. in English from Columbia University in 1935, and the Ph.D. in adult education from Columbia in 1943. He served as head of the English Department in the Cliffside Park, New Jersey, High School and taught social studies in the Westfield, New Jersey, High School and the New York City Regents Evening High School.

Hendrickson served as Assistant and Associate in adult education as well as instructor in sociology at the Teachers College of Columbia University and was an assistant professor of adult education as well as Director of Cooperative Education and Assistant Dean at Cleveland College of Western Reserve University. In 1947 Hendrickson went to Ohio State University as professor of Education, where in 1957 he was appointed director of the Center for Adult Education. Retiring from Ohio State in 1967, Dr. Hendrickson became director of the Institute of Senior Adults and professor of adult education in the Department of Adult Education at Florida State University.

Andrew Hendrickson was a member and vice president of the National Education Association. He served on the executive committee and as a member of the Delegate Assembly of the Adult Education Association. A past secretary-treasurer of the Ohio Association for Adult Education, Dr. Hendrickson was editor of the journal of that organization, The Ohio Adult Observer, from 1948 to 1960. He was also one of the founders and the first president of the Adult Education Council of Greater Columbus, Ohio.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Andrew Hendrickson Papers arose primarily from Hendrickson's work at Ohio State University. All of the material came from the office of the professor of adult education at Ohio State. This material is almost exclusively Hendrickson's, but most of the material dated before 1947 resulted from the work of Hendrickson's predecessor, Herschel W. Nisonger. There is also correspondence from 1967 generated by William D. Dowling, Hendrickson's successor. The collection consists of correspondence, printed material including reproduced material and published material, and a few photographs. The inclusive dates of the collection are 1933-1971 but the bulk of the papers are dated between 1948 and 1967.

The collection arrived in two parts separated by nearly twenty years, and the two parts were treated separately.

Part 1 material is divided into three categories: correspondence, writings, and miscellaneous material. Correspondence covers the period 1937-1967, with emphasis on 1948-1967, and includes both incoming and outgoing letters, telegrams, and memoranda. The material is arranged chronologically with multiple items having the same date arranged alphabetically by the correspondents' names. Undated material is placed at the end of the section. Significant correspondents (those for whom there are at least twenty pieces in the collection) and the inclusive dates of their letters follow. In no case are there more than fifty pieces for any individual.

The inclusive dates of Writings are 1933-1969. Included in this category are articles and addresses, reports and proposals, copies of The Ohio Adult Observer, and student papers from Hendrickson's classes. There are eleven articles and addresses, arranged alphabetically by title. Reports and proposals include documents prepared by Hendrickson or by committees of which Hendrickson was a member. These are arranged chronologically with undated pieces placed at the end of the section. Since Hendrickson was an editor of The Ohio Adult Observer, there is a fairly complete run of this journal between the dates 1933 and 1966. Student papers are arranged chronologically.

Miscellaneous material, 1945-1967, comprises biographical information on Hendrickson and Nisonger; meeting papers, including working papers, minutes and proceedings; memorabilia, including membership lists and rosters, photographs, programs, brochures, newspaper clippings, and a script; and unidentified pieces. Minutes include reports of only those meetings which Hendrickson attended and are arranged chronologically. Transcripts of meetings of the Commission of Professors of Adult Education for 1957 to 1959 are arranged chronologically in the section of proceedings. The CPAE, a branch of the Adult Education Association of the United States of America, was organized to develop a philosophy of adult education. Membership lists and rosters name members of organizations and rosters of conference and meeting participants. These lists are arranged chronologically, with undated material at the end of the section. The few photographs are mostly of meetings; they are undated and unidentified. The section of programs includes printed programs of meetings and conferences in which Hendrickson participated. The programs are arranged chronologically, and undated material is placed at the end of the section. The brochure relates to the program and services of the Bureau of Special and Adult Education at Ohio State University. The newspaper clippings describe the retirement of Herschel W. Nisonger. The script is of a skit performed at an appreciation banquet for Nisonger upon his retirement. Unidentified material is arranged chronologically.

Part 2 consists of miscellaneous pamphlets on various adult education topics, as well as a few documents reflecting Hendrickson's involvement with several adult education organizations. This group of materials date from the late 1920s to the early 1960s, with the 1950s and 1960s predominating.

Materials from Part 2 are organized by subject area into four groups: Adult education - general contains a selection of adult-education related topics. Adult education organizations comprises material such as reports, minutes, and programs related to the American Association for Adult Education (AAAE), the Adult Education Association (AEA), the National Education Association (NEA), and the Ohio Association of Public School Adult Educators (OAPSAE), a chapter of the national organization (NAPSAE). Adult education (by state) has material specifically related to adult education in New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, West Virginia among others. General topics contains miscellaneous pamphlets on topics other than adult education. The folders within each group are arranged alphabetically.

Topics of particular interest include the AEA; educational television and radio; leadership training; community development; and the United Nations & UNESCO. Some materials, especially those dating from the 1920s and 30s, bear Dr. Herschel W. Nisonger's imprint. Dr. Nisonger was Hendrickson's predecessor at Ohio State.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Dowling, William D.
Hendrickson, Andrew, 1899-
Holden, John Bernard.
Houle, Cyril Orvin, 1913-
Jensen, Glenn S.
Kempfer, Homer.
Knowles, Malcolm Shepherd, 1913-
Kreitlow, Burton W.
Long, Fern.
Luke, Robert A.
Nisonger, Herschel Ward, 1890-
Rochte, Newton C.
Verner, Coolie.

Associated Titles

The Ohio Adult Observer.

Subjects

Adult education -- Ohio.
Adult education -- United States.
Educators -- United States.
Older people -- Education.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Memorabilia.
Reports.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Andrew Hendrickson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Andrew Hendrickson, 1969 and 1971.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Writings

Miscellaneous

Adult education - general

Adult education organizations

Adult education by state

General topics


Inventory

The following is a shelf list. Minimal processing has been done on this collection.

Correspondence
Box 1 1937-1947
1948
Box 1 Jan-Jul
Box 1 Aug-Dec
1949
Box 1 Jan-Mar
Box 1 Apr-Dec
1950
Box 1 Jan-Jun
Box 1 Jul-Dec
1951
Box 2 Jan-May
Box 2 Jun-Dec
Box 2 1952
1953
Box 2 Jan-Jun
Box 2 Jul-Dec
1954
Box 2 Jan-May
Box 3 Jun-Dec
1955
Box 3 Jan-Apr
Box 3 May-Aug
Box 3 Sep-Dec
1956
Box 3 Jan-Apr
Box 3 May-Aug
Box 3 Sep-Dec
1957
Box 4 Jan-Mar
Box 4 Apr-Jul
Box 4 Aug-Oct
Box 4 Nov-Dec
1958
Box 4 Jan-Apr
Box 4 May-Aug
Box 5 Sep-Dec
1959
Box 4 Jan-Feb
Box 4 Mar-Apr
Box 5 May-Jul
Box 5 Aug-Sep
Box 5 Oct-Dec
1960
Box 6 Jan-Mar
Box 6 Apr-Aug
Box 6 Sep-Dec
1961
Box 6 Jan-Apr
Box 6 May-Aug
Box 6 Sep-Dec
1962
Box 7 Jan-Apr
Box 7 May-Aug
Box 7 Sep-Dec
1963
Box 7 Jan-Mar
Box 7 Apr-Aug
Box 7 Sep-Dec
1964
Box 7 Jan-Jun
Box 8 Jul-Dec
1965
Box 8 Jan-Mar
Box 8 Apr-Jun
Box 8 Jul-Sep
Box 8 Oct-Dec
1966
Box 8 Jan-Mar
Box 9 Apr-Jul
Box 9 Aug-Dec
1967
Box 9 Jan-Feb
Box 9 Mar-May
Box 9 Jun-Dec
Box 10 1968-1970
Box 10 Undated
Writings
Articles and addresses
Box 10 1947-1957
Box 10 1959-1968
Box 10 Pamphlets 1963
Reports and proposals
Box 10 1936-1952
Box 10 1953-1954
Box 10 1955-1958
Box 11 1959-1966
Box 11 1969
Box 11 Undated
The Ohio Adult Observer
Box 11 1933-1949
Box 11 1950-1954
Box 11 1955-1956
Box 11 Student papers 1950-1958
Miscellaneous
Box 12 Adult Basic Education, workshops 1968-1969
Box 12 Adult Education Association 1968-1971
See also Adult education organizations: Adult Education Association (AEA)
Box 12 Biographical information
Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE)
See also Adult education organizations: AEA-Commission for Professors in Adult Education
Box 12 1960-1967
Box 12 1968
Box 12 1969-1970
Box 12 Conference on Aging 1968
Box 12 Education for Older Persons 1969-1971
Box 12, 13 Handbooks and programs in adult education 1944-1953 (2 folders)
Meeting papers
Minutes
Box 13 1945-1952
Box 13 1953-1957
Box 13 1958-1959
Box 13 1960-1967
Proceedings
Box 13 1957
Box 14 1958
Box 14 1959
Memorabilia
Box 14 Brochures
Oversize 1 Certificate
Membership lists and rosters
Box 14 1947-1957
Box 14 1958-1967
Box 14 Undated
Box 14 Newspaper clippings 1960, 1971
Box 14 Photographs
Box 19 Plaques and certificates
Programs
Box 15 1946-1954
Box 15 1955-1967
Box 15 Script 1960
Box 15 Speeches 1965-1970
Box 15 Various papers 1961-1968
Box 15 Unidentified fragments 1947-1967
Adult education - general
Box 16 Continuing education
Educational media and methods
Box 16 Home study
Box 16 Radio and TV
Box 16 Other media
Educational opportunities
Box 16 Leadership training
Box 16 Publicity
Box 16 Research
Adult education organizations
Box 17 American Association for Adult Education (AAAE)
Adult Education Association (AEA)
See also Miscellaneous: Adult Education Association (AEA)
Box 17 AEA-Commission for Professors in Adult Education
See also Miscellaneous: Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE)
Box 17 National Education Association (NEA)
Box 17 Ohio Association of Public School Adult Educators (OAPSAE/NAPSAE)
Adult education by state
Box 17 Ohio
Box 17 New York (Chautauqua)
Box 17 Pennsylvania
Box 17 West Virginia
Box 17 Other states
General topics
Box 17 Adult recreation
Box 17 Agriculture
Box 17 Citizenship
Box 18 Community development
Box 18 Family relations
Box 18 Health education
Box 18 Labor
Box 18 Literacy
Box 18 Race relations
Box 18 United Nations/UNESCO
Box 18 Veterans
Box 18 Vocational education
Box 18 YMCA
Box 18 Youth