Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Henry Hazlitt Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 20 Nov 1978

Revision history:
9 Feb 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hazlitt, Henry, 1894-1993.
Title: Henry Hazlitt Papers
Dates: 1920-1958
Quantity: 6.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American journalist, editor, and author, specializing in economic subjects. Collection includes correspondence (1945-1958); book manuscripts, articles, editorials, reviews, speeches, and scrapbooks of clippings about Hazlitt.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Henry Hazlitt (1894-1993) was an American libertarian economist and author. Hazlitt had a distinguished career as an economic journalist with the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and other leading metropolitan dailies, and at various times served as Economic Editor of Newsweek, literary editor for The Nation, and editor of American Mercury (replacing H.L. Mencken). He also authored several books on economic subjects.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry Hazlitt Papers consist of correspondence, miscellaneous, printed material, and writings.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. All other series are arranged alphabetically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center holds the papers of a number of important journalists; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hazlitt, Henry, 1894-1993.

Subjects

Authors, American -- 20th century.
Editors -- United States.
Journalism, Commercial.
Journalists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Editorials.
Manuscripts for publication.
Reviews (document genre)
Scrapbooks.
Speeches.

Occupations

Authors.
Editors.
Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry Hazlitt Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Miscellaneous

Printed material

Writings


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 1945-1958
Miscellaneous
Box 1 Sketch of Hazlitt by George Stratton 1948
Printed material
Oversize 1 Clippings about - scrapbooks (2 volumes)
Box 1 Miscellaneous (3 folders)
Writings
Books
Box 1 Anatomy of Criticism - typescript (2 folders)
Box 1 The Foundations of Morality - notes, rough draft, typescript (9 folders)
Box 1 Man vs. the Welfare State - notes, rough draft, 2 typescripts (4 folders)
A New American Constitution
Box 1 Typescript, incomplete
Box 2 Rough draft (2 folders)
Box 2 Untitled, on economic fallacies - rought draft (2 folders)
Editorials and reviews
Box 2 Jun 1934 - 22 Oct 1938 (3 volumes)
Box 3 23 Oct 1938 - 15 May 1945 (3 volumes)
Magazine articles
Box 3 American Mercury (6 issues)
Box 3 Atlantic (1 issue)
Box 3 Current History (4 issues)
Box 3 Michigan Alumnus Quarterly Review (2 issues)
Box 3 Modern Quarterly (3 issues)
Box 4 Yale Review (5 issues)
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Box 4 Rough drafts and notes
Magazines edited by
Box 4 The Nation 1930-1931
Box 5 The Nation 1931-1933, 1939
Speeches
Box 5 Miscellaneous 1946-1949
News clippings
Box 5 Miscellaneous (8 folders)