Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Léon Hartl Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hartl, Léon, 1889-
Title: Léon Hartl Papers
Dates: 1924-1966
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Published material, exhibits, newspaper and magazine clippings. biographical material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Léon Hartl (1889-1973) was a French-born painter known for his figures, still lifes and landscapes. He emigrated to American in 1912 and spent much of his working life in New York.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Léon Hartl Papers consists of biographical material, correspondence, exhibit material, and printed material.

Biographical material consists of an autobiographical packet compiled by and/or for the Peridot Gallery.

Correspondence includes the National Academy of Arts and Letters, and an unknown "Cher Amie."

Exhibit material contains catalogs and magazine and newspaper clippings relating to exhibits at a variety of galleries.

Printed material has clippings regarding Hartl and his work, from American newspapers and magazines as well as from French and German publications.


Arrangement of the Collection

Folders are alphabetical by topic. Clippings in each folder are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hartl, Léon, 1889-

Subjects

Art, Modern.
Painters -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Exhibition catalogs.

Occupations

Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Léon Hartl Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Léon Hartl, 1966.

1954 letter to "Cher Amie" purchased, 2013.


Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Exhibits

Printed material


Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Peridot Gallery biographical packet 1964
Correspondence
Box 1 National Academy of Arts and Letters 1959 - regarding award; includes printed material
Box 1 Unidentified, outgoing 1954
Letter to "Cher Amie" purchased, 2013.
Exhibits
Box 1 Brummer Gallery 1934-1938 - exhibit brochures, clippings
Box 1 GRD Studio show 1929 - clippings
Box 1 International Studio 1926 - handwritten and typed copy of review
Box 1 Peridot Gallery 1954-1964, undated - exhibit brochures, clippings
Box 1 Valentine Gallery 1926, 1936-1940 - exhibit brochures, clippings
Box 1 Whitney Studio Club 1925 - exhibit brochures, clippings
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1928, 1956, 1965-1966
Printed material
Box 1 Clippings, magazine 1953, 1964
Box 1 Clippings, newspaper 1924, 1955, 1959
Box 1 Clippings, French press 1960-1962
Box 1 Clippings, German press 1927