Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Bret Harte Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 10 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Harte, Bret, 1836-1902
Title: Bret Harte Letter
Dates: 1874
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter by the American author to his publisher.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Francis Bret Harte (1836-1902) was an American author, short story writer, and poet, know for his stories of pioneer life in California.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Bret Harte Letter is dated New York, 5 Oct 1874 and is addressed to "My dear Bliss," likely Frank Bliss from the American Publishing Company. In the letter, Harte discusses several manuscript drafts he had sent Bliss and payments owed to him.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Bliss, Francis E. (Francis Edward).
Harte, Bret, 1836-1902.

Subjects

Authors, American -- 19th century.

Places

New York (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Bret Harte Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 480 1874