Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Albert Bushnell Hart Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 12 Nov 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hart, Albert Bushnell, 1854-1943.
Title: Albert Bushnell Hart Letters
Dates: 1897-1931
Quantity: 7 items (SC)
Abstract: Outgoing letters, mostly concerning publication of the American Nation, a twenty-eight volume set edited by Hart, and published between 1904 and 1918.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Albert Bushnell Hart (1854-1943) was an American professor of history and government at Harvard University who played a prominent role in the study of history and historiography.

Albert Bushnell Hart was born July 1, 1854 to Albert Gaillard and Mary Crosby Hornell Hart in Clarksville, Pennsylvania, but was raised in Ohio. Although Hart began working immediately after high school, a trip to the East coast sparked his interest in Harvard University. After passing the entrance exam with honors, Hart entered the freshman class in 1876 at the age of 22. Active in political activities on campus, Hart met and became a lifelong friend of future President Theodore Roosevelt. When Hart graduated from Harvard in 1880, he received a three year fellowship to study modern constitutional history which enabled him to travel to Europe. When he returned to the United States with his doctorate degree, Hart was hired as an American history instructor at Harvard University where he taught from 1883-1926. Hart was a prolific writer and became a prominent figure in historical studies, promoting American history as a vital subject of study. Hart married Mary Hurd Putnam Hart in 1889 and the couple adopted twin sons in 1897. He died on June 16, 1943.

Selected Works

1885 The Coercive Powers of the Government of the United States of America
1891 Introduction to the Study of Federal Government
1892 Formation of the Union, 1750-1829, volume 2 of Epochs of American History series
1893 Practical Essays on American Government
1895 Studies in American Education
1896 Guide to the Study of American History
1899 Salmon Portland Chase, volume 28 of American Statesman series
1901 Foundations of American Foreign Policy, With a Working Bibliography
1903 Actual Government as Applied Under American Conditions
1906 Slavery and Abolition, 1831-1841, volume 16 of The American Nation: A History
1907 National Ideals Historically Traced, 1607-1907, volume 26 of The American Nation: A History
1908 Manual of American History, Diplomacy, and Government for Class Use
1910 The Southern South
1911 The Obvious Orient
1915 The War in Europe: Its Causes and Results
The Monroe Doctrine: An Interpretation
1917 New American History
1918 School History of the United States
1920 Causes of the War
1941 Theodore Roosevelt Cyclopedia

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Albert Bushnell Hart Letters contains 7 outgoing letters, mostly concerning publication of The American Nation: A History, a 28 volume set edited by Hart, and published between 1904 and 1918.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hart, Albert Bushnell, 1854-1943 -- American nation.
Hart, Albert Bushnell, 1854-1943.

Subjects

Historians -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Albert Bushnell Hart Letters
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 253 Phaque, Mr. 02 Aug 1907, 03 Aug 1907, 09 Aug 1907, 13 Aug 1907, 24 Aug 1907 (5 letters, 8 pages)
SC 253 Sachtler, Harry H. 23 Oct 1931 (1 letter, 1 page)
SC 253 Salrum, Professor 15 Aug 1897 (1 letter, 2 pages)