Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Louis Harris Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Harris, Louis, 1902-1970.
Title: Louis Harris Papers
Dates: 1928-1964
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Clippings, photographs of work by the American landscape and portrait painter.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Louis Harris (1902-1970) was an American painter known for his nudes, landscapes and portraits. He studied at the Art Students League of New York and worked in oils and watercolor.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Louis Harris Papers consists of clippings about Harris and his work, and a few black and white photographs of his paintings.


Arrangement of the Collection

Clippings are as arranged by the artist, in roughly chronological order. Photographs are in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Harris, Louis, 1902-1970.

Subjects

Art, Modern.
Landscape painters -- United States.
Portrait-painters -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Photographs.

Occupations

Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Louis Harris Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Louis Harris, 1970.


Table of Contents

Clippings

Photographs


Inventory

Clippings
SC 419 About Harris 1928-1964
Photographs
SC 419 of Harris' work