Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Edward A. Harris Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: May 1966

Revision history:
20 Aug 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Harris, Edward A., 1910-1976.
Title: Edward A. Harris Papers
Dates: 1928-1961
Quantity: 3.0 linear ft., 16 scrapbooks.
Abstract: Papers of the American newspaper journalist.
Abstract: Correspondence (1929-1958); news story research material; book and short story manuscripts; photographs; published material by and about Harris; and sixteen scrapbooks of clippings by Harris and others.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Edward A. Harris (1910-1976) was an American newspaper journalist. Born in St. Louis, he graduated from Washington University in St. Louis in 1933 and joined the staff of the St. Louis Star-Times as a columnist and general reporter. In 1940 he took a position as City Hall reporter for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, later becoming a regular reporter and local political writer. He was assigned to the Post-Dispatch's Washington Bureau in 1943 and for the next ten years covered numerous White House news conferences and events, Senate and House hearings, presidential campaigns and national conventions. During his Washington tenure, he concentrated on civil liberties issues and corruption investigations, winning a Pulitzer Prize in 1916. From 1951-1957 he served as West Coast bureau Chief for the Post-Dispatch, taking a leave of absence in 1957 to obtain a Master's Degree from U.C.L.A. In 1959, Harris bought Hidden Valley Farm, a 912-acre property in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Virginia where he farmed, wrote books, and contributed a weekly syndicated agricultural column entitled "Down on the Farm."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edward A. Harris Papers consists of correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, and published material.

Correspondence consists of incoming letters, dating from 1929 to 1958. Subject files is comprised of materials from Edward Harris's high school, college, and post-graduate years (1928-58). Also included are office memos (1941-1947) between the St. Louis office and Harris. Early news stories contains news story material for the St. Louis Star Times and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1933-1952). There are file folders (1943-1954) on eight major news stories which Harris wrote for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, as well as file folders on the Presidential convention and campaigns (1919-1952). Stevenson campaign clips (1952), syndicated column "Down on the Farm," promotional material, and some miscellaneous material are also included. Manuscripts are of books, short stories, and a teleplay. The manuscripts are all typescript, except for one book holograph. Published material consists of a book (1958), articles about Harris (1934-1953, articles by Harris, (1934-1952) and one short story by Harris (1933), as well as an article by others (1916). There is a file folder of newspaper clippings (1941-1954) by Harris and a file folder of newspaper clippings (1948-1953) by others. Scrapbooks of clippings cover nearly twenty years (1943-1961).


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically and then chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic. Manuscripts and published material are arranged alphabetically by type and within that by title. Scrapbooks are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Harris, Edward A., 1910-1976 -- Archives.

Subjects

Journalism.
Journalists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edward A. Harris Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Edward and Miriam Harris.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts

Published materials

Scrapbooks


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Ambrose, Joe 1946
Box 1 "Art" 1946
Box 1 Balch, Jack 1945-1958
Box 1 Blake, Thomas D. 1946
Box 1 Boone, Marion 1946
Box 1 Brant, Irving 1944
Box 1 Buckhart, Jim 1957
Box 1 Coghlan, Ralph 1946
Box 1 Congelman, Jim 1946
Box 1 Davidson, C. Girard 1948
Box 1 Elmore, Frank H., Jr, 1946
Box 1 Fitzpatrick, D. R. 1946-1948
Box 1 Fleischer, Nat S. 1936
Box 1 Flores, Alfonso M. 1946
Box 1 "Gil" 1946
Box 1 Goldstein, Al 1946
Box 1 Goldstein, J. Walter 1946
Box 1 Gottlieb, Ferd 1946
Box 1 Grant, Donald 1946
Box 1 Harris, Robert E. G. 1958
Box 1 Henry, J. Porter, Jr. 1946
Box 1 Kaplan, Jack 1958
Box 1 Kenamore, Charles 1946
Box 1 Kirschten, Ernest 1946
Box 1 Laddin, Nat 1946
Box 1 Loeb, Mrs, Virgil 1946
Box 1 McAfee9 Wes 1946
Box 1 Margo 1946
Box 1 Martin, John 1946
Box 1 Mockler, Stan 1946
Box 1 Parry, Thomas D. 1946
Box 1 Reese, B. H. (B. H. R.) 1948
Box 1 Ruddy, Edward A. 1946
Box 1 Schless, Frank H. 1946
Box 1 Schoknecht, A. C. C. 1946
Box 1 Shepley, Ethan A. 1958
Box 1 Skinner, Lemoine, Jr. 1946
Box 1 Tavenner, Eugene 1929
Box 1 Terral, Rufus 1946
Box 1 Thompson, Ted 1946
Box 1 Throop, George R. 1932
Box 1 Toberman, Walter H. 1946
Box 1 Turner, Fitzhugh 1958
Box 1 Wheeler, Crawford 1946
Box 1 Willier, Robert A. 1946
Subject files
Box 2 Blue Ridge School of Journalism
Education
Box 2 High School, U. City 1928-1929
Box 2 College, Washington University 1929-1933
Box 2 Taster's Degree, U.C.L.A. 1957-1958
Memos
Box 2 Office Private 1945-1953
Box 2 Office Pulitzer Prize 1941-1947
Box 2 News Stories, early ( St. Louis Star & Times and St. Louis Post-Dispatch) 1933-1947
News Stories, St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Box 2 American President Lines 1952
Box 2 California Assignment 1954-1957
Box 2 California Assignment 1956
Box 3 California Oil Case 1953-1954
Box 3 California Oil Inquiry 1945
Box 3 China Lobby 1948-1951
Box 3 Colonial Airlines 1951
Box 3 Ellen Knauff Case 1949-1951
Box 3 Mexican Oil 1946-1949
Box 4 Col. John P. Monroe Case 1943
Box 4 Tidelands Oil, Edward Pauley 1945
Box 4 Presidential Convention and Campaign 1949-1952
Box 4 Radio Station KSD St. Louis 1944
Box 4 Senate Banking and Currency Committee Memorandum 1949
Box 4 Stevenson Campaign Clips 1952
Box 4 Syndicated Column "Down on the Farm" Promotional Material 1960-1961
Manuscripts
Books
Box 4 And Swift the Earth about 1935 - typescript, bound, 278 pp.
Box 4 Ever Since Eve Bit the Apple or Sex and the Married Woman - typescript, unbound, 230 pp.
Box 5 Love Thy Neighbor, - holograph, bound and unbound, 277 pp.
Short stories, magazine
Box 5 "The Coffee Was Cold" - typescript
Box 5 "Now here's the Rub" - typescript carbon
Box 5 "Piggy Bank Tarn" - typescript carbon 22pp
Box 5 "A Walk Around the Block" - typescript 31pp
Teleplay
Box 5 A Walk Around the Block - typescript 121pp
Published materials
Books
Box 5 Love Thy Neighbor, Exposition Press, New York. Autographed. 1951
Articles about Harris
Box 5 Editor and Publisher Oct. 20, 1931
Box 5 Life Dec. 23, 1912
Box 5 Collier's Dec. 16, 1950
Box 5 Saturday Evening Post March 10, 1951
Box 5 Newsweek Dec. 14, 1953
Articles by Harris
Box 5 Dec. 1934 The High School Teacher
Box 6 April 1944 Negro Digest
Box 6 Aug. 28, 1944 The New Republic (2 items)
Box 6 Oct. 21, 1914 Liberty
Box 6 Dec. 2, 1911 (with Marquis J. Childs) Liberty
Box 6 May 5, 1945 The Nation
Box 6 Feb. 1946 Washington News Digest
Box 6 March 1946 Digest and Review
Box 6 Jan. 20, 1947 New Republic
Box 6 Jan. 1948 Magazine Digest
Box 6 Aug. 1, 1949 New Republic
Box 6 March 2, 1952 New Republic
Articles by Others
Box 6 New Republic Aug. 5, 1946
Short Story
Box 6 The All-America Sport Magazine Sept. 1938
Newspaper clippings by Harris
Box 6 1941-1954
Newspaper clippings by others
Box 6 1948-1953
Scrapbooks
Volume 1 1943-1944 Correspondence - Correspondence, incoming, letters of commendation and congratulations (very few clippings) on Harris' news stories from OWI Director Elmer Davis, Ben "B. R." Reese, Ralph Coghlan, and Dan Fitzpatrick of the St. Louis Dispatch, Senator Harry S. Truman, James C. Hagerty, Charles G. Ross and many others
Volume 2 1943-1944 Clippings of Harris' news stories - from Washington, D. C. for St Louis Dispatch
Volume 3 1944 Clippings of Harris' news stories - from Washington, D. C. for St. Louis Dispatch
Volume 4 1944 Clippings of Harris' news stories - from Washington, D. C. for St. Louis Dispatch
Volume 5 1945 Clippings of Harris' news stories on Tidelands Oil - from Washington, D. C. for St. Louis Dispatch; Fitzpatrick's cartoons are also Included
Volume 6 1946 Clippings of Tidelands Oil Scandal by Ed Harris and others - Harris' news stories were filed from Washington, D. C. for St. Louis Dispatch. Includes correspondence from Senator Charles Tobey, Harold L. Ickes, Jonathan Daniels, Herbert Bayard Swope, Joseph Pulitzer, Ralph Goghlan, Ben Reese, and Daniel Fitzpatrick from the St. Louis Dispatch.
Volume 7 1949-1950 Clippings of China Lobby Series by Ed Harris and others - several incoming letters; Harris' news stories were filed from Washington, D. C. for the St. Louis Dispatch. also cartoons by Herblock and Fitzpatrick.
Volume 8 1949-1952 Clippings of news stories by Ed Harris and others - Harris' news stories were filed from Washington, D. C. for the St. Louis Dispatch; includes considerable correspondence, much of it from President Truman, White House Press Secretaries, Gov. Adlai Stevenson, and St. Louis Dispatch memos
Volume 9 1950 Clippings of Ellen Knauff Case by Ed Harris and others - includes cartoons by Fitzpatrick; Harris' news stories were filed from Washington, D. C. for the St. Louis Dispatch
Volume 10 1953 Clippings of news stories by Ed Harris and others - Harris' news stories were filed from Washington, D. C. for the St. Louis Dispatch; also some correspondence, including a letter from Supreme Court Justice Felix Frankfurter, and St. Louis Dispatch Office Memos
Volume 11 1954 Clippings of news stories by Ed Harris and others - Harris' news stories were filed from Washington, D. C. for the St. Louis Dispatch
Volume 12 1955 Clippings of news stories by Ed Harris - from the West Coast for the St. Louis Dispatch; includes correspondence from the Rev. Donald Curtis, Claire Rochelle, Paul Butler, Chairman of the National Democratic Committee, Robert M. Hutchins, and Herblock.
Volume 13 1956 Clippings of news stories by Ed Harris and Others. - Harris' news stories were filed from the West Coast for the St. Louis Dispatch; includes correspondence from Herblock, Leslie Caron, Malcolm Cowley, and Michigan Governor G. Mennen Williams.
Volume 14 1957 Clippings of news stories by Ed Harris and Others. - Harris' news stories were filed from the West Coast for the St. Louis Dispatch; includes correspondence from St. Louis Mayor Raymond P. Tucker, Ethan A. H. Shapley, Chancellor of Washington University in St. Louis.
Volume 15 1958 Clippings entitled "A Critique of the Los Angeles Press" - exhibit scrapbook for master's thesis.
Volume 16 1961 Clippings of "Adam and Eve" - personal advice column, written by Adam and Eve Lowell (Mr. and Mrs. Edward A. Harris)