Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Michael Harrington Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 May 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Harrington, Michael, 1928-1989.
Title: Michael Harrington Collection
Dates: circa 1985
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Two recordings of the American socialist and political scientist.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Michael Harrington, Jr. (1928-1989) was an American democratic socialist. He was a writer, political activist and theorist, professor of political science, radio commentator and founding member of the Democratic Socialists of America.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Michael Harrington Collection consists of videorecordings of Harrington. One is a speech or presentatin of some sort, the other is an interview.


Arrangement of the Collection

No order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Harrington, Michael, 1928-1989

Corporate Bodies

Democratic Socialists of America.
Institute for Democratic Socialism (U.S.)

Associated Titles

New American poverty.

Subjects

Communism and society.
Politics -- United States.
Socialism -- United States.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1981-1989.

Genres and Forms

Interviews.
Speeches.

Occupations

Political scientists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Michael Harrington Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Recordings


Inventory

Recordings
Box 1 The Institute for Democratic Socialism presents: Michael Harrington on the new American poverty circa 1984 VHS (ID#: harrington_m_001)
Box 1 Michael Harrington interview undated VHS (ID#: harrington_m_002)