Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Frederick W. Harding Manuscript

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Harding, Frederick W., 1878-1975.
Title: Frederick W. Harding Manuscript
Dates: before 1970
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Baptist missionary to Garo Mission in Assam, India. Collection consists of a copy of the manuscript of Harding's autobiography. Also included is a small booklet by Harding entitled "Indigenous Christianity in Assam."
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frederick W. Harding (1878-1975), sometimes spelled "Frederic," was born in Leeds, England and received his BA (1904) and DD (1933) from Colgate University. He graduated from the Hamilton Theological Seminary in 1907 and was ordained a Baptist minister on September 9, 1907. Shortly thereafter he departed on a posting to Tura, Assam, India, with the Garo mission.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frederick W. Harding Manuscript consists of a copy of the manuscript of Harding's autobiography. Also included is a small booklet by Harding entitled "Indigenous Christianity in Assam."


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Harding, Frederick W., 1878-1975.

Corporate Bodies

American Baptist Missionary Union.

Subjects

Baptists -- Missions -- India.
Garo (Indic people) -- Religion.
Missionaries -- India.

Places

Assam (India) -- History.
Assam (India) -- Religious life and customs.
Garo Hills (India) -- History.
Garo Hills (India) -- Religious life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Autobiographies.
Manuscripts for publication.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederick W. Harding Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Frederick W. Harding, 1970.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 417 Autobiography, untitled - xerox copy of typescript