Collection inventory


Finding Aids

W. B. Harden Scrapbook

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Sep 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Harden, W. B.
Title: W. B. Harden Scrapbook
Dates: circa 1921-1922
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Scrapbook relating to two companies that manufactured presses for the textile and garment industry, Hoffman Machinery Company and Syracuse Triplex Presser Company, both located in Syracuse, New York.
Language: Most in English, one or two items in Spanish
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Hoffman Machinery was a company in Syracuse, New York, a manufacturer of "Sanitary Steam Knit Goods Presses" for the textile industry. W. B. Harden was their advertising manager. [American Wool and Cotton Reporter, Nov. 10, 1921, p. 104.] The Syracuse Triplex Presser Company produced garment presses and as of 1922 was "a comparatively new company." [Textile World, September 16, 1922, p. 37] Harden's connection with this company is unknown.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The W. B. Harden Scrapbook consists of a large album containing advertising literature and correspondence pertaining to the Hoffman Machinery Company and the Syracuse Triplex Presser Company. Both companies manufactured garment presses and/or fabric presses for the textile and garment industry. A substantial amount of additional material is laid in.


Arrangement of the Collection

Original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Harden, W. B.

Corporate Bodies

Hoffman Machinery Company.
Syracuse Triplex Presser Company.

Subjects

Business enterprises -- Syracuse (N.Y.)
Sales promotion -- United States.
Textile industry -- United States.
Textile machinery industry -- Marketing -- United States.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Brochures.
Circulars.
Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

W. B. Harden Scrapbook,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
Oversize 1 Scrapbook circa 1921-1922