Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Wesley C. Haraldson Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2010

Biographical History

Wesley C. Haraldson (1909 or 1910-1996) graduated from Jamestown College in 1935. An economist by training, Haraldson worked first for the Federal Reserve but spent most of his career as a Foreign Service Officer, including work with Taiwan, China, Vietnam, and the Philippines, and served as director of the Agency for International Development (USAID).

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Wesley C. Haraldson Papers consist of audiorecordings, memorabilia, and speeches/remarks.

Audiorecordings includes interviews, speeches, and coverage of one of Haraldson's reports.

Memorabilia contains photographs, clippings, a c.v., and a few items of printed material. Some of this material was acquired separately; see Acquisition Information below for details.

Speeches/remarks by Haraldson includes commencement addresses, conference addresses, and a statement given to the House Foreign Affairs Committee.

Arrangement of the Collection

Audiorecordings and speeches/remarks are arranged in chronological order. Memorabilia is in alphabetical order by type.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiorecordings requires advance notice to produce a working copy.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings


Haraldson, Wesley C.

Corporate Bodies

USOM to the Philippines.
United States. -- Agency for International Development.


Community development -- Philippines.
Economic development -- Philippines.
Rural development -- Philippines.


Philippines -- Politics and government.
Philippines -- Rural conditions.
Philippines. -- Presidential Arm on Community Development.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Wesley C. Haraldson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Bulk of material, gift of Wesley C. Haraldson, 1967.

Items in Memorabilia : Miscellaneous folder were acquired separately in 2014. They were among some of Mrs. Ada Haraldson's papers that were given to a genealogical society in Phoenix, Arizona, and later transferred to Special Collections Research Center.

Table of Contents



Speeches and remarks