Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Natalie Hays Hammond Drawings

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: SM
Date: 13 Oct 2016

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hammond, Natalie Hays, 1904-1985.
Title: Natalie Hays Hammond Drawings
Dates: undated
Quantity: 1 folder
Abstract: The collection consists of five drawings signed "Natalie Hays Hammond"
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Natalie Hays Hammond (1904-1985) was an American artist. She was born in Lakewood, New Jersey, and died in North Salem, New York. Born as the daughter of John Hays Hammond, a successful and wealthy mining engineer, she pursued the life of a painter, miniaturist, author and that of a set and costume designer. Besides her paintings she also published on design (Anthology of Pattern, New Adventures in Needlepoint Design).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Natalie Hays Hammond Drawings comprise five drawings, all face studies (four male and one female), in pencil and watercolors. The female face seems to be a portrait of Elizabeth I, Queen of England, and it is possible that all of the drawings portrait historical persons of Elizabethan England. The portrait series could be related to Hays Hammond's poetic biography of the English monarch.


Arrangement of the Collection

Drawings remain in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hammond, Natalie Hays, 1904-1985.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Costume design.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Women artists -- United States.
Women painters -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Portraits.
Watercolors (paintings)

Occupations

Women costume designers.
Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Natalie Hays Hammond Drawings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Acquisition unknown.


Table of Contents

Artwork


Inventory

Artwork
Map-Case 108 Drawings undated (5 drawings)