Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Hazel Hunkins Hallinan Address

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: unknown

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hunkins-Hallinan, Hazel.
Title: Hazel Hunkins Hallinan Address
Dates: 1977
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Typescript transcript of address to Women's Press Club, Washington DC, 1977.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Hazel Hunkins Hallinan (1890-1971) was an American journalist and activist for women's suffrage and women's rights in both the United States and England. She was a member of the group that chained themselves to the White House gates in 1916.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hazel Hunkins Hallinan Address is the text of an address Hallinan gave to the Women's Press Club in Washington, DC on August 23, 1977. The text is a transcript of a tape in the Regional Oral History Office of the University of California's Bancroft Library. In the speech, Vassar graduate Hallinan reviews her experiences as a woman growing up in the early twentieth century, beginning with being told when young that she could be a nurse but not a doctor, teach botany but not chemistry, and could not vote. She traces her activities in support of women's suffrage, and touches on the problems of British women and equal pay, citing events and names important for the struggle for civil rights in England.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection. Publication in whole or in part requires the permission of the Regional Oral History Office, Bancroft Library, University of California.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many individuals and organizations involved in activism and civil rights. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hunkins-Hallinan, Hazel.

Corporate Bodies

Women's National Press Club (U.S.)

Subjects

Women journalists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Speeches.

Occupations

Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hazel Hunkins Hallinan Address,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1982.


Table of Contents

Speeches


Inventory

Speeches
SC 342 National Women's Press Club 23 Aug 1977