Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Francis George Hall Letters

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: 1973

Revision history:
19 Oct 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hall, Francis George.
Title: Francis George Hall Letters
Dates: 1892-1901
Quantity: 0.5 linear feet
Abstract: Correspondence of a colonial administrator in Kenya, written to his father, Lieutenant Colonel Edward Hall.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Francis George Hall (1860-1901) was a British Colonial administrator in Kenya. He worked for the Bank of England until 1880 then, in South Africa, as a schoolteacher, soldier, farmer, and gold miner. In 1892 he joined the Imperial British East Africa Company and became Acting Superintendent of the District of Kikuyu. Hall remained as District Officer after company control was ceded to the British government.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Francis George Hall Letters consists of typescript copies of letters from Hall to his father, Lieutenant-Colonel Edward Hall, and an index to the letters. The collection also includes a second photocopied set of the letters and indexes.


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

London University's Department of Oriental and African Studies has another collection of Hall's letters.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hall, E., fl 1860-1901, Lieutenant Colonel.
Hall, Francis George, 1860-1901.

Subjects

Decolonization -- Africa -- History.
Great Britain -- Colonies -- Africa -- Administration.

Places

Africa -- Politics and government -- To 1945.
Kikuyu (Kenya) -- Politics and government -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Francis George Hall Letters
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence, typescript

Correspondence, photocopies


Inventory

Correspondence, typescript
Box 1 Pages 1-211 1892-1895 (4 folders)
Box 1 Appendix with notes, pp. 212-217 1893, undated
Box 1 Pages 1-131 1896-1901 (3 folders)
Box 1 Appendix with notes, pp. 132-162 1893, undated
Correspondence, photocopies
Box 1 Pages 1-211 1892-1895 (4 folders)
Box 1 Appendix with notes, pp. 212-217 1893, undated
Box 1 Pages 1-131 1896-1901 (3 folders)
Box 1 Appendix with notes, pp. 132-162 1893, undated