Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Henry Guterman Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Guterman, Henry.
Title: Henry Guterman Papers
Dates: before 1969
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: American rabbi. Collection contains notebooks, subject files and printed material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Henry Yitzak Guterman (?-1966) was an American rabbi and scholar, and "chief rabbi" of Scranton, Pennsylvania from 1909-1966. Although firmly Orthodox himself, he actively fostered and maintained good relations with Reform and Conservative rabbis and residents of the city.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry Guterman Papers contains notebooks, subject files and printed material.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Guterman, Henry.

Subjects

Jews -- Pennsylvania -- Scranton.
Rabbis -- United States.

Places

Scranton (Pa.) -- Religious activity.

Occupations

Rabbis.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry Guterman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Simeon Guterman, 1969.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.