Collection inventory


Finding Aids

François Guizot Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 26 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Guizot, François, 1787-1874
Title: François Guizot Letter
Dates: 1848
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter written by the French statesman and historian during his exile in England.
Language: French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

François Pierre Guillaume Guizot (1787-1874) was a French historian and statesman. A constitutional monarchist, he was one of the most significant politicians during Louis Philippe's July Monarchy, holding various offices including Minister of Education (1832-1837) and Prime Minister (1847-1848). He was forced to resign from politics during the Revolution of 1848 and afterward focused on his work as a historian.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The François Guizot Letter is dated Lowestoft, 17 Aug 1848, and is from the period when Guizot was living in exile in England. It is addressed to an unknown correspondent and written in French.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Guizot, François, 1787-1874.

Subjects

Politicians -- France -- Correspondence.

Places

Lowestoft (England) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Historians.
Politicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

François Guizot Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 469 1848