Collection inventory


Finding Aids

George Bird Grinnell Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Apr 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Grinnell, George Bird, 1849-1938.
Title: George Bird Grinnell Papers
Dates: 1903
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Authorizations for payment to members of the Northern Cheyenne Tribe at Lame Deer, Montana, signed by George Bird Grinnell.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Bird Grinnell (1849-1938) was an American anthropologist, historian, naturalist, conservationist, and author. He wrote a number of books, including The Fighting Cheyennes (1915) and The Cheyenne Indians: Their History and Lifeways (1923).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Bird Grinnell Papers consists entirely of small pieces of paper on which are written authorizations for payment to the Cheyenne tribe of Lame Deer, Montana. Documentation from the U.S. Department of the Interior, which accompanies the collection, indicates that the payments were authorized by George Bird Grinnell on behalf of an Englishman, George Walters, who had established a trading post at Lame Deer. The payments were for both goods (relics, handicrafts) and services (translation, guides).


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Grinnell, George Bird, 1849-1938.

Subjects

Indians of North America -- Montana.
Trading posts -- Montana.
Trading posts -- United States -- History.

Places

Northern Cheyenne Tribe of the Northern Cheyenne Indian Reservation, Montana.

Genres and Forms

Financial material.
Orders to pay.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Bird Grinnell Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Financial material


Inventory

Financial material
SC 797 Orders to pay 1903