Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William S. Griffith Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: 15 Sep 2006

Revision history:
Sep 2006 converted to EAD (MRR)
Mar 2009 dissertations additions (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Griffith, William S., 1932-1996.
Title: William S. Griffith Papers
Dates: 1955-2008
Quantity: 12 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the adult education professor and researcher. Includes Griffith's correspondence and his own writings (articles, book chapters, reports, speeches) as well as an extensive amount of relevant material by others including articles and clippings, conference proceedings, papers, reports and studies, speeches, and printed material. The collection reflects Griffith's interest in international education (material from countries ranging from Africa and Asia to Scotland and Sweden), correctional education (particularly for sex offenders), and population education (Planned Parenthood, population education in Egypt). There is also a considerable amount of material from organizations with which Griffith was closely involved, including the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE), the Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE), the Northwest Adult Education Association, and the Universities of Chicago and of British Columbia.
Language: Vast majority is in English; there is some in French and a smattering of other languages
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William S. Griffith earned his Ph.D. in Adult Education in 1963 from the University of Chicago. He was a professor of Adult Education at the University of British Columbia and the University of Chicago, and taught at Virginia Polytechnic Institute, Australian National University and the University of Sydney. He was an active member of the Commission of Adult Education, President of the Northwest Adult Education Association (1990-1991), Chairman of the Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE), and President of the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE). He also served on the steering committee of the Adult Education Research Conference (AERC) and chaired the program committees for the AEA/USA and the NAPCAE national conferences (in 1966 and 1975 respectively) and the Research Section of the National University Extension Association. In 1986-1987, Griffith spent a year in the Philippines as part of a joint pilot project of SEAMEO and the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA).

Bill Griffith had a number of research interests including extension education, correctional education, literacy, population education and international education. He wrote extensively on these and other topics -- articles, books, papers, speeches, reports, and studies -- and made a significant contribution to the field by co-editing (with Howard McClusky) the 8-volume Adult Education Association Handbook Series in Adult Education in 1980-1981.

His contributions to the field have been widely recognized. He was named a Fulbright-Hayes Senior Research Fellow to Australia in 1972-1973, and in 1980 the AEA/USA awarded him its Research to Practice award as well as its Leadership Award.

Bill Griffith died on August 12, 1996 at the age of 64.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William S. Griffith Papers represent the papers and research material of the adult educator and researcher. They reflect Griffith's research interests in population education, correctional education, extension education, and international comparative education. There is also a considerable amount of material from organizations with which Griffith was closely involved, including the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE), the Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE), the Northwest Adult Education Association, and the Universities of Chicago and of British Columbia.

The first three series comprise Griffith's own output. Biographical material is sparse, consisting of two interviews, a clipping from the University of British Columbia alumni magazine, and some campaign fliers from Griffith's campaign for AAACE President. Correspondence-subject files consists of correspondence with individuals (Robert Luke, Roger Clark), organizations (among them AAACE, CPAE, the Fielding Institute, and Planned Parenthood Federation of Canada), and universities (University of Chicago, Pennsylvania State University, Universiti Pertanian Malaysia, University of Calgary), as well as clusters of topical information (adult basic education, correctional education, literacy, population education) and specific activities or projects with which Griffith was involved, including the International Symposium on Adult Education, Rape and Violence End Now (RAVEN), the Ukrainian Dairy Training School, and the South East Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO). The latter has material from Griffith's year in the Philippines under the auspices of SEAMEO/CIDA, including background material on education in the Philippines, a course description, and Griffith's own notes from regular meetings held during that year in the Philippines. Writings comprises Griffith's articles, books, class syllabi and curricula, manuscripts, papers, reports, reviews, and speeches. Of particular interest are the 30+ manuscript papers on various aspects of community colleges. It is unclear whether these were intended eventually to be merged into a book or whether they were written for different times and occasions and simply share a theme.

The remaining series organize material collected by Griffith as relevant to his interests, but not written by him. Articles (by others) contains reprints, photocopies and clippings of articles on topics related to adult education; the earliest item is a photocopy of the text of a speech delivered at the University of Michigan in 1855; the latest are transparencies of two Calvin and Hobbes comic strips.

Griffith attended (and presented at) a vast number of Conferences; this series includes material from nearly 50 conferences covering more than thirty years, and provides an overview of the changing emphases in adult education during that time. The material is in order by conference name. If the sponsoring organization is not part of the name, and if there is a single sponsoring organization, its name is given in parenthesis following the conference title.

Griffith also amassed a valuable library of papers, reports, studies, speeches and printed material on adult education-related topics. Papers (by others) comprises scholarly papers written by others in the field, including a substantial 1940s paper by well-known adult educator Cyril O. Houle on "Adult Education as a Function of State Government." Reports and studies (by others) represents a comprehensive 40-year overview of the field of adult education worldwide in the form of formal reports and studies undertaken by organizations, foundations and government agencies in the United States, Canada, and around the world. The documents are divided into particular topics (Adult Basic Education (ABE), correctional education, extension education, literacy, and women's education) and Miscellaneous; the Miscellaneous papers are then subdivided by geographic area and range from Scotland to Iran to Africa. Speeches (by others) contains the text of miscellaneous speeches. Theses (by others) contains more than 25 masters theses and doctoral dissertations, for which Dr. Griffith was the faculty adviser or a dissertation committee member.Printed material is a motley collection of brochures, pamphlets, handouts, booklets and fliers from a variety of organizations, associations, and agencies.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically, with the exception of the subdivisions "Books" and "Classes and curricula" under Writings; these are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Some items have been removed from the collection for separate cataloging. For more information on these items, please contact the repository listed above or search the Classic Catalog with "William S. Griffith" as "Keyword Anywhere."

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In particular, the researcher may wish to consult the following:


Subject Headings

Persons

Griffith, William S., 1932-1996 -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

American Association for Adult and Continuing Education.
Commission for Professors of Adult Education.
National Association for Public Continuing & Adult Education.

Subjects

Adult education -- Evaluation.
Adult education -- Research.
Adult education educators.
Adult education teachers -- Training of.
Adult education.
Agricultural extension work -- Research.
Birth control.
Community colleges.
Continuing education.
Prisoners -- Education.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Dissertations.
Minutes.
Newsletters.
Papers (document genres)
Periodicals.
Proceedings.
Proposals.
Reports.
Studies.
Theses.

Occupations

Adult educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William S. Griffith Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Majority of papers, gift of William S. Griffith. Theses and dissertations, gift of Beverly Griffith, 2008.


Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence-subject files

Writings

Articles (by others)

Conferences

Papers (by others)

Reports and studies (by others)

Speeches (by others)

Theses (by others)

Printed material


Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Clippings about 1980, 1989 - AAACE president campaign flyer; interview in University of British Columbia alumni magazine
Box 1 Interview transcript 1987
See also South East Asian Ministers of Organization (SEAMEO)
Correspondence-subject files
Box 1 Adult Basic Education (ABE) 1986-1989, undated
See also Writings: Reports: Cooperative Program Improvement: An Experiment in ABE In-Service Training; Conferences: Commission on Adult Basic Education (COABE)
Box 1 Adult Education Research Centre curriculum review 1994
Box 1 Alberta Association for Continuing Education 1991
American Association of Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE)
Box 1 Adult Learning editorial board 1989
Box 1 Audit (Lloyd Richardson) undated
Box 1 Bylaws undated
Box 1 Campaign fliers undated
Conferences
See Conferences: American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE)
Box 1 Correspondence 1988-1993, undated (4 folders)
Box 1 Financial statements 1989
Box 1 Leadership roster 1988
Meetings
Box 1 Board of Directors 1987, 1991-1992 (4 folders)
Box 1 Executive Committee 1989-1992 (4 folders)
Box 1 Notes undated
Box 1 Plan of consolidation, AEA/ NAPCAE 1982 - plan to merge AEA/USA with NAPCAE to create the AAACE
Box 1 Policies and procedures 1988, 1989
Printed material
Box 1 Discussion papers 1978, 1979
Box 1 Newsletters 1985-1990
Box 1 Speaker's Bureau booklet 1987
Box 1 Strategic plan 1991
Box 1 American Association of Junior Colleges 1969 - newsletters and several papers/reports
Box 1 California 1974-1975
See also Reports and studies: Miscellaneous: California
Box 1 Canadian Association for the Study of Adult Education (CASAE) 1986, 1992-1993
See also Conferences: Canadian Association for the Study of Adult Education (CASAE) 13th Annual
Box 1 Caritas Adult and Higher Education Service (Hong Kong) 1991-1992
The Cedar Glen Declaration
See Literacy
Box 1 Centre for Community and Global Transformation Learning 1993 - course description, Budd Hall
Box 1 Clark, Roger 1993
Commission On Adult Basic Education (COABE)
See Adult Basic Education (ABE)
Box 1 Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE) 1978, 1986, 1993-1994, undated
See also Conferences: Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE)
Box 1 Correctional education 1980-1985, undated (2 folders)
See also Reports and studies: Correctional education
Box 1 Council of Europe (Conseil de l'Europe) 1975, 1977, 1978, 1981-1982, 1986 - correspondence, several papers and reports
Box 1 Ethics 1986, 1991, undated
See also "Michigan"
Box 1 Fielding Institute 1993
Box 1 Florida State University 1993
Box 1 Graduate programs in extension education in Canada (list) undated
Hall, Budd
See Centre for Community and Global Transformation Learning
Box 1 Illinois 1964, 1969, 1970, 1979, undated - printed matter, report, history of the Adult Education Round Table of Northern Illinois
See also University of Chicago; Reports and studies: Illinois
Box 1 Institute for the Study of Adult Literacy 1987
Box 1 International Adult Education Hall of Fame 2006, 2008 - newsletter, program, call for papers
Box 1 International Conference on Foreign Student Affairs 1971 - evaluation form
Box 1 International Symposium on Adult Education (Shenyang, China) 1991-1993
Box 1 Literacy 1976, 1987, 1989
See also Reports and studies: Literacy
Box 2 Loughborough University of Technology Centre for Extension Studies 1979
Box 2 Luke, Robert 1991 - includes draft of a chapter from Luke's The NEA and Adult Education 1921-1971
Box 2 "Michigan" [supplied title] undated - handouts concerning development of a code of ethics for adult educators
Box 2 Ministry of Education, Canada 1981-1982 - includes report, "Continuing Education: The Third System"
Box 2 National Adult and Continuing Education Week 1988
Box 2 National Association for Public and Continuing Adult Education (NAPCAE) 1978
See also AAACE: Plan of consolidation, AAACE/ NAPCAE
Box 2 Nigeria 1975, 1993-1994, undated - correspondence with the Federal Ministry of Education, University of Ibadan, and individuals; UNESCO report; working paper on adult education trends in Africa
Northwest Adult Education Association
Box 2 Board members 1983-1989
Box 2 Correspondence 1986-1989
Box 2 Meeting minutes 1983-1988
Box 2 Newsletters 1986-1995 (2 folders)
Box 2 Policies and procedures 1985, 1987, 1988
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Pennsylvania State University
See Writings: Classes and Curricula: Evaluation in Adult and Extension Education
Philippines
See South East Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO)
Box 2 Philosophy of adult education inventory 1983
Box 2 Planned Parenthood Association of British Columbia 1993-1994
Box 2 Planned Parenthood Federation of Canada 1992-1994
Box 2 Population education - Egypt 1977
Box 2 RAVEN (Rape And Violence End Now) 1983, undated
Box 2 Society of Population Educators 1979 - newsletter with meeting minutes
Box 2 South East Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO) 1986-1987 (2 folders)
Box 2 Southern Alberta Institute of Technology undated
Box 2 Ukrainian Dairy Training School 1992
Box 2 United States Department of Education 1982, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1993
Box 2 Universiti Pertanian Malaysia 1995
Box 1 University of British Columbia 1978, 1987, 1992-1994
See also Adult Education Research Centre curriculum review
Box 2 University of Calgary 1993 - graduate program proposal
Box 2 University of Chicago 1957 1960 1967 1968 - proposal for an adult education center, two reports (2 folders)
Box 2 University of Chicago Adult Education alumni 1983, 1996, 1997 - letters, photos, etc. to Griffith from alumni of the program
Box 2 University College of Swansea 1995 - correspondence, draft of two papers (one by Griffith)
Box 2 University of New England (New South Wales) 1986
Box 2 University of Oklahoma 1993
Box 2 University of Saskatchewan 1993
Box 2 University of Sydney Centre for Continuing Education 1984
Box 2 University of Wisconsin ca. 1989
Box 2 Vancouver School of Theology 1994
Box 2 Worker's Educational Association of New South Wales 1980
Box 2 Miscellaneous undated
Writings
See also Correspondence subject files: University College of Swansea
Articles
Box 2 "Adult Education" (for the Academic American Encyclopedia) 1995 - correspondence and drafts
Box 2 Literacy Discussion, vol. 4 no. 3 1973 - thematic issue on "Adult Basic Education II" edited by Griffith
Box 2 "The McGrath Report: A Critique" 1969 - in Journal of Cooperative Extension, vol. 7 no. 2
Box 2 "NCA Standards for Adult High Schools" 1975 - in North Central Association Quarterly, vol. 49 no. 4
Box 2 "North America: Adult Education" (for the International Encyclopedia of Adult and Continuing Education) 1991
Box 2 "Paolo Freire: Utopian Perspective on Literacy Education for Revolution" 1974 - in Literacy Discussion
Box 2 "Perspectives on Continuing Education" 1976 - in Connecticut Medicine, vol. 40 no. 11
Box 2 "Report from the Consultant" 1975 - in Proceedings of the Veterinary Self-Assessment Workshop
Box 2 "The Role of Public School Adult Education" 1965 - in The High School Journal, vol. 49 no. 2
Books
Box 3 1984 "Learning Theory" (chapter 2 of Extension Handbook, 1st ed, edited by Donald J. Blackburn)
Box 3 1992 "Adult Education Leaders Should Come From Within Adult Education" (chapter in Confronting Controversies in Challenging Times)
Box 3 1994 "Applying Learning Theory in Extension Work" and "Understanding and Applying Motivation Research" (chapters 3 and 4 of Extension Handbook, 2d ed, edited by Donald J. Blackburn)
Box 3 undated "The Impact of Intellectual Leadership" (chapter)
Classes and curricula
Box 3 1977 Education 601, University of British Columbia - handout on research in education
Box 3 1987 Program Evaluation (Adult Education 515), University of British Columbia - syllabus, five student projects (6 folders)
Box 3 1988 Diploma Seminar and Internship in Adult Education (Adult Education 375), University of British Columbia - program description
Box 3 1988 Theory and Research on Adult Learning (Adult Education 518), University of British Columbia - syllabus, course development guidelines
Box 3 1989 Evaluation in Adult and Extension Education (Adult Education 579D), Pennsylvania State University - correspondence, syllabus, course overview
Box 3 1993 Instructional Excellence in Adult and Continuing Education (EDCCV 898.3), University of Saskatchewan - course outline, reading list
Manuscripts
Box 3 "Adult Education and Community Service in the Community College" undated - more than 30 typescript papers or essays on various aspects of community colleges; most are untitled and it is unclear whether these were intended to be articles, papers, or perhaps merged into a book (4 folders)
Papers
Box 3 "Access to Education as Related to Economic Development and the Quality of Life" undated
Box 3 Communities, Universities and Change: Recent North American Experience undated
Box 3 "Political Correctness, Post-Modernism and Academic Adult Education" undated
Reports
Box 3 Adult and Continuing Education: Special Study Number 5 of the National Education Finance Project (consultant) 1970
Box 3 Adult Education Teachers: Accreditation, Certification, Licensing Issues and Options ca. 1977
Box 3 An Assessment of Professional Development Education "Needs" of British Columbia's Agricultural Extension Personnel 1986
Box 3 Canadian Research in Education: A State of the Art Review (chapter) 1981
Box 3 Cooperative Program Improvement: An Experiment in ABE In-Service Training 1971
Box 3 An Interpretive Review of the 1984 National Adult Education Conference 1985
Box 3 National Forums on the Adult Education Delivery System (testimony) 1991
Box 3 Public Policy in Financing Basic Education for Adults, Volume I: Summary and Recommendations 1974
Box 3 Public Policy in Financing Basic Education for Adults, Volume III: Community Case Studies 1974
Box 3 Public School Adult Education in Northern Illinois (preface) 1966
Reviews
Box 3 1966, 1994-1995 (2 folders)
Speeches
Box 3 Agricultural extension in Canada and the United States (outline) undated
Box 3 Adult education and social change 1995
Box 3 Literacy in our technological society 1984
Box 3 Obligations of leadership 1981
Miscellaneous
Box 3 "Extension Supervision" class notes ca. 1965 - Griffith's own notes from a class he took
Box 3 "Our Society's Future" (preface to Cooperative Extension Organization and Administration: Selected Papers) 1967
Entire publication is in Reports and studies: Extension education
Articles (by others)
Box 4 Miscellaneous - collection of photocopies and reprints of articles, book reviews, book chapters, etc from 1855 to 1991 on various adult education topics; also includes two Calvin and Hobbes cartoons (2 folders)
Conferences
Box 4 Adult Basic Education Conference (Illinois Advisory Council on Adult, Vocational and Technical Education) 1979
Box 4 Adult Education in Community Colleges (Canadian Association for Adult Education) 1965
Box 4 Adult Education Research Conference (AERC), 14th Annual 1973
Box 4 Adult Education Research Conference (AERC), 31st Annual 1990
Box 4 Adult Learning Needs and the Demand for Lifelong Learning (National Institute of Education) 1978
American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE)
Box 4 AAACE 1982 Annual
Box 4 AAACE 1983 Annual
Box 4 AAACE 1984 Annual
See also Writings: Reports: An Interpretive Review of the 1984 National Adult Education Conference
Box 4 AAACE 1985 Annual
Box 4 AAACE 1987 Annual
Box 4 AAACE 1988 Annual
Box 4 AAACE 1989 Annual
Box 4 AAACE 1990 Annual
Box 4 AAACE 1991 Annual
Box 4 AAACE 1992 Annual
Box 4 AAACE 1993 Annual
Box 4 AAACE 1995 Annual
Box 4 Building Effective Program Linkages (U.S. Department of Education) 1991
Box 4 Canadian Association for the Study of Adult Education (CASAE), 13th Annual 1994
Commission of Adult Basic Education (COABE)
Box 4 COABE 1979 Annual
Box 4 COABE 1989 Annual
Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE)
Box 4 CPAE 1986 Annual
Box 4 CPAE 1989 Annual
Box 4 CPAE 1993 Annual
Box 4 CPAE 1994 Annual
Box 4 CPAE 1998 Annual
Box 4 Future Structures of Post-Secondary Education (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) 1973
Box 4 Economic and Social Perspectives on Adult Illiteracy (Florida Department of Education) 1977
Box 4 Galaxy Conference on Adult Education 1969
Box 4 International Conference of Extension Administrators 1965
Box 4 International Intervisitation Program, 4th Annual 1978
International Symposium on Adult Education
See Correspondence-subject files: International Symposium on Adult Education
Box 4 Interprofessional Continuing Education in the Health Sciences (University of British Columbia) 1992
Box 4 Invitational Conference on Continuing Education, Manpower Policy, and Lifelong Learning (National Advisory Council on Extension and Continuing Education) 1977
Box 4 Learning to Build Communities: The Role of Adult Education in Community Development 1992
Box 4 Lifelong Learning Research Conference (Department of Agricultural and Extension Education) 1984
Box 4 Midwest Research-to-Practice Conference, 2d Annual 1983
National Association for Public and Continuing Education (NAPCAE)
Box 5 NAPCAE 1975 Annual
Box 5 NAPCAE 1976 Annual
Box 5 NAPCAE 1979 Annual
Box 5 National Seminar on Adult Education Research 1968, 1969
Box 5 North Central Association 1977 Annual (Community College Session)
Box 5 Objectives and Methods of Research in Adult Education 1962
Box 5 Role of Schools and Universities in Adult Education (UNESCO) 1964
Box 5 Role of Universities in Adult Education (Arab States Fundamental Education Centre) 1978 - photographs only
Box 5 Role of Universities in Education of Adults (International Congress of University Adult Education) 1972
Box 5 Training and Further Training of Adult Educators (European Bureau of Adult Education) 1982
Box 5 UNESCO International Conference on Adult Education, 4th Annual 1985 (2 folders)
Box 5 University-based Residential Continuing Education (Kellogg Foundation) 1991
Papers (by others)
Box 5 Cross, Duke, Haines
Box 5 Houle
Box 5 OECD, Savage, Sork, Sticht
Box 5 Valentine, unknown
Box 5 Miscellaneous
Reports and studies (by others)
Box 5 Adult Basic Education 1968-1989 - United States, Canada (4 folders)
Box 5 Correctional Education 1982, 1993 - Canada
See also Correspondence-subject files: Correctional education
Box 5 Extension education 1955-1991 - United States, Canada, Australia (5 folders)
Box 6 Literacy 1977-1990 - United States, Canada, Iran, Latin America, international (4 folders)
See also Reports and studies: Miscellaneous: Middle East
Box 6 Women's adult education 1979, 1992, 1994 - Canada
Miscellany
Box 6 Africa 1971, 1975, 1976, 1982, 1990 (2 folders)
See also Correspondence-subject files: Nigeria
Box 6 Asia and the Pacific 1977, 1981, 1983, 1987
Box 6 Australia and New Zealand 1977
Canada
Box 6 British Columbia 1969-1992 (6 folders)
Box 6 Nova Scotia 1979
Box 6, 7 General 1974-1992 (5 folders)
See also Folder 1 of United States- general; Correspondence-subject files: Ministry of Education, Canada
Box 7 China 1964
See also International Symposium on Adult Education
Box 7 Denmark ca. 1976
Box 7 England and Wales 1960-1983
Box 7 Germany 1984
Hong Kong
See Correspondence-subject files: Caritas Adult and Higher Education Service (Hong Kong)
India
See Asia and the Pacific
Box 7 Ireland 1986
Box 7 Israel 1968
Box 7 Middle East 1975, 1977, 1978
See also Reports and studies: Literacy; Conferences: Role of Universities in Adult Education
New Zealand
See Australia and New Zealand
Box 7 Norway 1981
Box 7 Philippines 1985, 1986, 1990
See also Correspondence-subject files: South East Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO)
Box 7 Poland 1963
Russia
See USSR
Box 7 Scotland 1974-1989 - includes a 1975 study by J. Alexander, "A Study of Policy, Organisation, and Provision in Community Education and Leisure and Recreation in Three Scottish Regions," 500 pp. (2 folders)
Box 7 Sweden 1979-1981, 1990
International also includes some papers published by the Swedish Ministry of Education on education of the European workforce
Thailand
See Asia and the Pacific
United States
Box 7 California 1963-1979 (3 folders)
Box 7 Illinois ca. 1974
See also Correspondence-subject files: University of Chicago; Correspondence-subject files: Illinois
Box 7 Minnesota 1975
Box 7 New York 1956, 1960, 1961, 1965 - includes text of several speeches given at Syracuse University's University College
Box 7 Tennessee 1989
Box 7, 8 General 1963-1991 (12 folders)
Box 8 USSR 1964-1965
Wales
See England and Wales
Box 8 International 1980-1991 (3 folders)
See also Correspondence-subject files: Council of Europe (Conseil de l'Europe)
Speeches (by others)
Box 8 Miscellaneous speeches 1975-1986, undated
See also Correspondence-subject files: Alberta Association of Continuing Education; Correspondence-subject files: University of Chicago
Theses (by others)
Box 9 Ampene / Teaching styles in adult basic education 1972
Box 9 Angeles / Electronic systems adult education course 1981
Box 9 Apel / Adult educators' attitudes towards change 1966
Box 9 Avoseh / Literacy as political empowerment in Paolo Freire's philosophy of education 1991
Box 9 Beatty / Osteoporosis health education 1986
Box 9 Bevis / Role conception and continuing learning 1971
Box 9 Borich / Adult educators decision-making regarding advanced degrees 1971
Box 9 Clark / Successful illiterate men 1993
Box 9 Cookson / Achievement of Mexican-American businessmen 1977
Box 10 Dillavou / The Swarthmore Chautauqua 1970
Box 10 Garrison / Predictor of adult learner dropout 1983
Box 10 Griffith / Leaders become teachers in learning organizations 1994
Box 10 Kafka / Residential adult education effectiveness 1970
Box 10 Kaiser / The Illinois home economics extension program 1969
Box 10 Klever / Values and adult educational participation of clergymen 1974
Box 10 Litchfield / The nature and pattern of participation in adult education activities 1965
Box 10 MacNeill / Prediction of dropout in entry-level training 1989
Box 10 Marcus / Age and perception of utility in adult education 1976
Box 10 McLaren / Adults' persistence in university 1990
Box 11 Mogan / Analysis of a native curriculum 1986
Box 11 Moran / Effects of community college decentralization 1977
Box 11 Parrish / Conceptions of marginality in adult education 1985
Box 11 Rhodes / A life skills course for Canadian correctional institutions 1989
Box 11 Shearon / A study of North Carolina county extension chairmen's perception of the role of the advisory board in county programming 1965
Box 11 Sloane-Seale / Program planners' practical knowledge 1994
Box 11 Tyrrell / Development of religious education for laymen in the U.S. 1973
Box 11 White / Professionalization process in adult education, USA, 1953-1969 1970
Box 11 Wilson / Follow-up survey of BTSD students [BTSD = Basic Training for Skills Development] 1984
Box 10 Yeshewalul / Agent roles in Canada and the U.S. 1983
Printed material
Box 8 Books 1993
Box 8 Newsletters 1974-1996 - miscellaneous newsletters from a variety of organizations, most are single issues (newsletters with substantial runs or from organizations Griffith was involved with are in the Correspondence-subject files, under their organization)
Box 8 Periodicals 1955, 1986-1989 - single issues of a variety of periodicals - Adult Leadership "best of" issue; one issue of REAL; two issues of Community Services Catalyst; two issues of Policy Explorations
Box 8 Miscellany - miscellaneous collection of pamphlets, fliers, brochures, instruction booklets, etc from a variety of US and Canadian organizations, centers, foundations, or groups (2 folders)