Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Chauncey Gridley Broadside

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 15 Jul 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gridley, Chauncey.
Title: Chauncey Gridley Broadside
Dates: 1806
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Democratic-Republican party handbill, signed by supporters of Governor Morgan Lewis of New York (Lewisites, or "Quids") against the faction led by DeWitt Clinton.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Morgan Lewis (1754-1844) was elected Governor of New York in 1804. DeWitt Clinton, then Mayor of New York, backed his candidacy, assuming that Lewis would be amenable to the political wishes and suggestions of himself and fellow party member Edward Livingston. However, Lewis proved less malleable than Clinton had expected and eventually joined forces with the Livingston faction to work against Clinton, leading to Clinton's removal as mayor in 1806. Lewis was a Livinston by marriage, which may have affected his loyalties somewhat.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Chauncey Gridley Broadside consists of a single item, a Democratic-Republican party handbill signed by supporters of Governor Morgan Lewis of New York (Lewisites, or "Quids") against the faction led by DeWitt Clinton. Among other things, it warns of "apostates and Federalists" meeting in secret and causing internal dissension in the party.


Arrangement of the Collection

One item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous manuscript collections relating to New York State politics and history; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In addition, many related books, pamphlets, serials and other items are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection; please search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.


Subject Headings

Persons

Bloodgood, Francis A., 1775-1842.
Childs, David W.
Clinton, DeWitt, 1769-1828.
Fox, Leavit.
Gridley, Chauncey.
Guiteau, Calvin.
Hathaway, Joshua.
Wetmore, Samuel.

Corporate Bodies

Republican Party (N.Y. : 1792-1828)

Places

New York (State)-- Politics and government -- 1775-1865.

Genres and Forms

Broadsides (notices)
Circulars (fliers)

Occupations

Politicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Chauncey Gridley Broadside,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased from Adah C. Blackman Fund, 2009.


Table of Contents

Printed material


Inventory

Printed material
SC 329 Broadside, signed by Chauncey Gridley and six others, in Oneida County 23 Apr 1806