Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Wilfred Thomason Grenfell Drawing

An inventory of his item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: SEH
Date: Dec 1993

Revision history:
06 Nov 2008 converted to EAD (LDC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Grenfell, Wilfred Thomason, Sir, 1865-1940.
Title: Wilfred Thomason Grenfell Drawing
Dates: Undated
Quantity: 1 item (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the English physician and author. Missionary to Labrador and Newfoundland who initiated child welfare work and built several hospitals and orphanages. Signed pen and ink sketch, "A Christmas Dinner in Labrador."
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Sir Wilfred Thomason Grenfell (1865-1940) was an English physician, author, and missionary who promoted child welfare work and built several hospitals and orphanages in Labrador and Newfoundland, Canada.

Wilfred Thomason Grenfell was born on February 28, 1865 in Parkgate, England. He attended London Hospital Medical School in 1883. While in London Grenfell decided to join the Royal National Mission to Deep Sea Fisherman. The organization sent him to Newfoundland in 1892. While there, Grenfell built several hospitals and established both schools and orphanages for the children of the region. On a return trip from England, Grenfell met Anne Elizabeth Caldwell MacClanahan and the couple wed on November 18, 1909. Together they had three children, Wilfred Thomason, Jr., Kinloch Pascoe, and Rosamond Loveday. Grenfell was made a Knight Commander of St. Michael and St. George in 1928. He died in Vermont on October 9, 1940.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Wilfred Thomason Grenfell Drawing is a signed pen and ink sketch, "A Christmas Dinner in Labrador," by the English physician and author (1865-1940).


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Grenfell, Wilfred Thomason, Sir, 1865-1940.

Subjects

Authors, English.
Missionaries, Medical.

Genres and Forms

Drawings.

Occupations

Authors.
Physicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Wilfred Thomason Grenfell Drawing
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of George and Lena Arents.


Table of Contents

Drawings


Inventory

Drawings
SC 118 "A Christmas Dinner in Labrador" undated pen and ink sketch by Grenfell