Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Greenway Productions Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: unknown



Scope and Contents of the Collection

Greenway Productions Records contains scripts from four of producer William Dozier's Greenway Productions television shows: Batman (Nov 1965-Dec 1967); The Green Hornet (Jun 1966- Jan 1967); The Loner (Jun 1965-Dec 1966); and The Tammy Grimes Show (Jun-Oct 1966). All the scripts are final and revised drafts of the weekly episodes and are the most original scripts available from the producers. The scripts are arranged alphabetically by program title and within each season alphabetically by script title.

The collection also contains a number of scripts related to production of the film adaptation of Elmore Leonard's novel The Big Bounce. The screenplay was written by Robert Dozier (son of William Dozier), and the 1969 film starred Ryan O'Neal, Leigh Taylor-Young and Van Hefflin. There are multiple versions of the script, reflecting the process of production, including an initial treatment of the novel, the first draft, the estimating draft (and production budget), the final screenplay and the screenplay as filmed. The collection also contains another Robert Dozier penned screenplay, an adaptation of the 1928 novel The Well of Lonliness by Radclyffe Hall. This film was not realized.

In addition to the written manuscripts, there are 32 reel-to-reel audio recordings of lectures given by executive producer and Greenway Productions' founder, William Dozier. Some of these recordings stem from a U.C.L.A. course taught by Dozier, Network Television: The Facts of Life (Theater Arts XL 198A), a course documented in a Time magazine article of 29 Mar 1968. It is not known if all of the taped lectures derive from this particular course. Dozier's lecture spots often featured prominent guests from the television industry, including John H. Mitchell, president of Columbia Pictures television division, Edward Bleier, senior executive at ABC television, and television producer and founder of MTM, Grant Tinker.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Dozier, Robert.
Dozier, William.

Corporate Bodies

Greenway Productions.

Associated Titles

Batman (Television program: 1966-1968)
Big bounce (Motion picture: 1969)
Green Hornet (Television program)
The Loner (Television program)
The Tammy Grimes show (Television program)

Subjects

Fantasy television programs.
Motion picture plays, American.
Television programs.
Television scripts.
Television series -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Lectures.
Screenplays.
Television scripts.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Greenway Productions Records,
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Greenway Productions.


Table of Contents

Television Productions, 1965-1967

Motion Picture Productions, 1968

Lectures by William Dozier, 1967-1968


Inventory