Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Samuel H. Greene Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 26 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Greene, Samuel Harrison, 1845-1920
Title: Samuel H. Greene Letter
Dates: 1882
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter to Greene from an unknown correspondent.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Samuel Harrison Greene (1845-1920) was a Baptist minister. He was senior pastor at Calvary Baptist Church in Washington, DC from 1880 to 1920.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Samuel H. Greene Letter is dated 8 Feb 1882 and addressed to Greene. The correspondent's signature is illegible (Frdk. J. Frlinghmg?), but the note is written on Department of State letterhead. In the note, the unknown correspondent declines Greene's request that he give a presentation on the topic of Mormonism.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center holds another collection connected to Calvary Baptist Church, the Jane Abernathy Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Greene, Samuel Harrison, 1845-1920.

Corporate Bodies

Calvary Baptist Church (Washington, D.C.).

Subjects

Baptists -- Clergy.

Places

Washington (D.C.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Samuel H. Greene Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 467 1882