Collection inventory


Finding Aids

F. W. Gray Comb Designs

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006

Revision history:
Feb 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gray, F. W.
Title: F. W. Gray Comb Designs
Dates: 1880-1912
Quantity: 2 bound volumes.
Abstract: Collection consists of two scrapbooks containing templates of designs for plastic hair combs. The templates are pasted onto the pages of printed books.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

F. W. Gray flourished around 1880 and died in 1912 in New York City.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The F. W. Gray Comb Designs consists of two scrapbooks containing templates of designs for plastic hair combs. The comb patterns are pasted onto the pages of two scrapbooks. On the inside of the back cover of one is a note saying that the book belonged to F.W. Gray of New York City around 1880 and came into the possession of Irvin F. Gray upon his death in 1912; the other is inscribed "F. W. Gray" on the flyleaf.


Arrangement of the Collection

None.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Gray, F. W. -- Archives.

Subjects

Combs.
Ornamental combs.
Plastics industry and trade.

Genres and Forms

Templates.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

F. W. Gray Comb Designs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008.


Table of Contents

Scrapbooks


Inventory

Scrapbooks
Box 1 "Columbia Bicycle" embossed on cover - Comb pattern templates pasted onto pages, "F.W. Gray" in pencil on flyleaf.
Box 1 Mid-19th century leather bound financial book - comb pattern templates pasted onto pages; inscribed in pencil on back paste down: "This book belonged to F. W. Gray about 1880, c. NYC. Came into my possession at his death 1912. Irwin [Irvin, Arvin?] F. Gray, 1912."