Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Robert Graves Collection

A description of the items at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 21 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Graves, Robert, 1895-1985
Title: Robert Graves Collection
Dates: 1965
Quantity: 1 folder.
Abstract: Manuscript copy of a poem by the British novelist and two portrait photographs of him.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert Ranke Graves (1895-1985) was an English novelist, poet, and translator of classical texts. His most famous works were his popular historical novels such as I, Claudius.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Graves Collection contains two portrait photographs of Graves taken by the famous photographer Rita Hammond in 1965, and a handwritten, signed copy of his poem "The Impossible" dated 1965.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single folder (portfolio style).


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Graves, Robert, 1895-1985.
Hammond, Rita, 1924-1999.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.
Poems.
Portraits.

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.
Translators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Graves Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Poems

Photographs


Inventory

Poems
Package 1 "The Impossible" 1965
Photographs
Package 1 1965 - 2 portraits by Rita Hammond