Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Ulysses S. Grant Collection

A description of the items at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 21 April 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Grant, Ulysses S. (Ulysses Simpson), 1822-1885
Title: Ulysses S. Grant Collection
Dates: 1869-1892
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence and memorabilia related to the Civil War General and President.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ulysses S. Grant (1822–1885) was an American Civil War General and the 18th President of the United States.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ulysses S. Grant Collection contains correspondence and memorabilia related to the American President. The collection contains 4 letters, 2 from Grant's time as president and 2 from the summer just after he completed his last term. The first item is dated 27 Jan 1869 and was sent by D. B. Eaton to Grant, recommending a candidate for the office of U. S. District Attorney. The second letter is dated 26 Jan 1877, and was sent by Grant's secretary to Col. D. P. Whiting, acknowledging receipt of his letter. The last two items are both related to Grant's June 1877 trip to Europe and his travel plans. Both are dated 25 Jun 1877 and they were sent by the then ambassador to Germany, Bancroft Davis, and the Legation of the United States in Paris.

The collection also contains memorabilia commemorating Grant. There are two items from his death in 1885, including the time table for his funeral train and a program from a memorial service held in San Francisco. Lastly, there is a leather bound etching of Grant given out as part of a 1892 dinner commemorating the 70th Anniversary of his birth.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Grant, Ulysses S. (Ulysses Simpson), 1822-1885.

Subjects

Presidents -- United States -- Correspondence.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Portraits.
Programs (documents)
Timetables.

Occupations

Generals.
Politicians.
Presidents.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ulysses S. Grant Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Memorabilia


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 462 1869-1877
Memorabilia
SC 462 1885-1892