Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Grant Foundation / Hôpital Albert Schweitzer Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 9 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hôpital Albert Schweitzer.
Title: Grant Foundation / Hôpital Albert Schweitzer Records
Dates: before 2000
Quantity: 90 linear ft.
Abstract: Charitable hospital founded in Deschapelles, Haiti in 1954. Collection includes personal and business files of physicians and co-founders Gwen Grant Mellon and Larry Mellon, as well as published and promotional material about the hospital and the Grant Foundation.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Albert Schweitzer (1875-1965) was a Franco-German philosopher, theologian, and physician. He and his wife, a nurse, established a mission hospital in 1913 in Lambaréné in Gabon, Africa and later founded a colony to care for individuals with leprosy. He received the 1952 Nobel Peace Prize for his work in promoting a "reverence for life."

William Larimer "Larry" Mellon (1910-1989) and his wife Gwen Grant Mellon (d. 2000) were influenced by Schweitzer's work to become physicians. Larry, formerly an Arizona cattle rancher, and Gwen, a medical technician, were instrumental in the founding, construction and ongoing operation of L'Hôpital Albert Schweitzer (HAS) in Deschapelles, Haiti beginning in 1956. The Mellons spent most of their working lives in Haiti, establishing health care, educational, and community development programs. They set up the non-profit Grant Foundation to enable the continued operation of the HAS.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Grant Foundation / Hôpital Albert Schweitzer Records consist of personal files of Gwen Mellon and Larry Mellon; articles and magazine publications; "Mellon" degrees, honors and awards; printed material (year-end brochures, alumni newsletters); and memorabilia.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings relating to Albert Schweitzer. See also the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship Records, Albert Schweitzer Papers, and Antje Lemke Collection Relating to Albert Schweitzer.

Our Rare Books holdings also include a copy of Gwen Mellon's autobiography, My Road to Deschapelles (another copy is in the circulating collection), and Brothers in spirit : The Correspondence of Albert Schweitzer and William Larimer Mellon, Jr.. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.


Subject Headings

Persons

Mellon, Gwen Grant.
Mellon, William Larimer, 1910-
Schweitzer, Albert, 1875-1965.

Corporate Bodies

Hôpital Albert Schweitzer.

Subjects

Humanitarianism.
Medicine in Haiti.
Missions, Medical -- Haiti.
Poor -- Medical care -- Haiti.
Voluntary hospitals -- Haiti.

Occupations

Physicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Grant Foundation / Hôpital Albert Schweitzer Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Gwen Grant Mellon, 2000.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.